Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2009
I was very happy with this recipe. I only made one change - I substituted pecans for the almonds due to availability. I coated the cookies with powdered sugar by tossing them in a zip top bag, which cut down on the mess. I coated some while warm and some after they had cooled completely. I prefer waiting until they cool. True - not as much sugar sticks to the cookie, but it they turn out a little sticky if you coat them when they are warm. Thank you for a great recipe. I can't wait to get up in the morning and have one - or five - with my coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elt

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
I chose to use the powdered sugar based upon the reviews. I also used pecans and vanilla extract because I had those on hand. Based on previous experience, I knew to roll them while still warm. These cookies were awesome, and I am looking forward to trying them with almonds and almond extract. On a side note, these will be placed in special bags and used as guest favors for my niece's baptism.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FoodieSuzanne

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
I made these cookies for my spanish class. I felt like this was a great way to look into another culture. They were very easy to make and fun. It was interesting to find out information about the spanish culture by making these delicious cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
this recipe is delicious and a good way of getting a taste from another culture other than our own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2009
These melt in your mouth and are a delicious addition to any dinner party loved em
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodisme

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
I made these cookies and they turned out great. everyone loved them,they were perfect as a going away gift to the bride and groom.I doubled the recipe and made the cookies a bit smaller so they were one bite cookies, less messy that way for party guests.The only problem I had with them was that I had to coat them 3-4 times in powdered sugar since I did as the recipe suggested and powdered them first when slightly warm,so the powdered sugar became doughy like on the cookies, so I recommend letting them cool completely before powdering them in the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Longview, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
Couldn't be an easier or more delicious cookie, I have made this so many times since the holidays I don't need the recipe. This is my girls favorite cookie that I make. Thanks for sharing this easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sharpsburg, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These cookies ROCK. They were so good and so easy to make. I used cashews instead of almonds because I like them better. Tasted great. I will make these again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
ok, I made a few changes to suit a craving I've had lately for lemony powdered cookies, this is what I did: followed recipe replacing vanilla extract with lemon extract and also omitted completely the nuts (added a little extra flour instead to attain more 'firmness' to the dough). Small bite sized pieces on the cookie sheet and baked 17 min. Fantastic!! Will definitely make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Thanks for the recipe -- it's just what I was looking for. I wanted a melt-in-your-mouth cookie and to enhance that I used all confectioner's sugar. I used pecans as they are softer and have the flavor I wanted. I toasted the pecans lightly and then chopped them finely. I also added a pinch of salt. I refrigerated overnight. After baking and cooling I coated them liberally with powdered sugar, a lot more than the recipe calls for, and let them sit undisturbed for awhile. That way the sugar sticks. One change I would make next time: They flattened rather than remaining as balls, so biting one causes powdered sugar to fly! I'll make them quite small next time so you can pop a whole one in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 160) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Cake Mix Cookies IV

A quick and easy way to bake cookies using a package of cake mix.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States