Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Photo by SUZZANNA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2009
My mother made cookies very similar to these for years. I used powdered sugar instead of regular sugar (as someone else suggested), chopped pecans instead of almonds, and almond extract instead of vanilla. There was no need to chill the dough before baking. The cookies were pretty cool when I rolled them in powdered sugar, and the sugar stuck just fine. If you roll them in sugar too soon, the cookies will crumble. Also, I know from experience, these cookies freeze well. Thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
Tip for getting the confectioners suger to stick: Roll the cookies when they are warm and the roll them in the sugar again once they cool off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2009
I may sound like Paula Deen but don't short the taste of the recipe with anything but REAL BUTTER.. You can also use this recipe for a great cookie dough pie crust, Just spread dough in pie pan before chilling in the fridge...Cold dough makes the crust flake. This recipe will make 2 pies
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
I first made these in high school in 1957. We used chopped cashews and rolled them into small balls about 1" in diameter. As far as whether to coat them with powdered sugar when warm or when cooled, we did both! We rolled them while warm then let them cool and rolled them again. These are one of my faVORITE COOKIES.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
I've made these cookies following the recipe and I've made them changing the type of sugar and the type of nuts. Whatever you decide the recipe is EXCELLENT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2009
i am currently making these cookies now. I changed it a little though i added a bit more vanilla than what was called for. also i used all powered sugar. i also added a teaspoon of almond instead of half teaspoon. when they come out i am going to roll them in cinnamon and powered sugar. hopefully the guys i work with will love them
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2009
Toasted the almonds first, used all powdered sugar, sifted the sugar and flour, added more vanilla and some salt.. SO good! Also, per some earlier reviews, I did the final sugaring after they cooled- turned out GREAT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LIVEEVILLISA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
great recipe. cookies are dense and flavorful, wonderful with tea or coffee. i use walnuts instead of almonds. a holiday favorite in my world, but good anytime of the year!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by seattle cat

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2009
I just made these, they are sooo delicious! And easy to make! Like many other reviewers, I substituted confectioner's sugar for white sugar. I also added an extra smidge of vanilla and dipped the cookies in powdered sugar while they were warm, the sugar stuck better this way. I used almonds and chopped them coarsely in the food processor. They now have a delicate almond flavor. I also refrigerated my dough for about 2 and a half hours. I'm very impressed with this recipe, thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2009
Yum! Made these for the first time last week and they sure didn't last long! Loved the texture - cakey and yet firm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by <3Loves2Bake<3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States