Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2011
I love this recipe! I added extra vanilla b/c i was using imitation also subsituted pecans for almonds and added a lil cinnamon. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2011
i've made these cookies twice last week and i'm making them again in a few minutes for one of my thanksgiving desserts! they are super easy and melt in your mouth good. i use pecans instead of almonds cause that's just what i prefer. i'll probably be making these forever now!!! thank you for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
i love these mexican wedding cookies. These are so moist and so delicouso. I would probabaly suggest cooling them before dipping the cookies into the powder sugar. But still a 5 star success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 100%good

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2011
what's not to love about these addictive tasty treats! Growing up these were also called "snow ball cookies" or known as "russian tea cookies" but whatever you call them they are so delicious and they disappear fast. Instead of white granulated sugar I used powered sugar. I did not have any almonds on hand but used walnuts instead, rough chopping them. I added more nuts because I love the nutty flavor and crunch in my cookies. I also added a pinch of salt and I made 18 round cookies, golf ball sizes. The dough was easy to put together. I baked 325 for 20 minutes. while they were luke warm I rolled them into the powered sugar and let them sit (resisting the urge to eat them while they cooled completely). These cookie melt in my mouth and are so yummy with the nutty crunch of the nuts and rolled in tons of powdered sugar. The powdered sugar in the dough really make the texture of the cookies come out much better (lighter). Usually I wait until the holidays or a special occasion to make these cookies -but today I didn't need a reason to make these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OkinawanPrincess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2011
This cookies turned out amazing! As a reviewer suggested I used powdered sugar and 1.5tsp vanilla. I used powdered almond instead of chopped by mistake , but they still turned out great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pray79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rockville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
I made it w/o any changes. I made it 3 times in one week while my entire family was out of town. Memorized the recipe, and ate them all by myself. No guilt, no regrets, no sharing. And because the good fat of the almonds was there it canceled out the bad fat of the butter. Did not gain any weight. LOL. woot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CINDYG99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2011
NUM! Mexican Wedding Cookies are my FAVORITE! I was so happy to find this recipe! It's so simple too! Although I found that instead of rolling the cookies after they cool, it was best to roll them first when they are fresh out of the oven, let them cool completely, and roll them again. It gives them that yummy layer of sugar that is just divine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by silenceinwinter

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
I've been making a similar recipe for 30+ years. I grew up calling them 'Portuguese Wedding Cakes', but the only change is powdered sugar rather than granulated in the dough, like others have stated. They really do melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Albany, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
Loved these cookies once everything was fixed! I followed the recipe to the letter and the batter came out crumbly???? Is that normal? I added enough water to make it moist so I could shape it into balls and that helped. Please help me with my issue or if it's normal!! Otherwise they are sooooo delicious!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SB
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
These cookies are very moist and delicious. Not to sweet and the flavor of vanilla really shines through. I would recommend doubling the recipe, these will go quick. Also mine baked for about 20-22 minutes. I made about 1/2 balls with the dough and got 20 cookies. I also halved the almonds and chopped them first. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SB
Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

How to Decorate Cookies

Become a cookie decorating artist!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States