Mexican Wedding Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
These cookies ROCK. They were so good and so easy to make. I used cashews instead of almonds because I like them better. Tasted great. I will make these again often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Red Bluff, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
ok, I made a few changes to suit a craving I've had lately for lemony powdered cookies, this is what I did: followed recipe replacing vanilla extract with lemon extract and also omitted completely the nuts (added a little extra flour instead to attain more 'firmness' to the dough). Small bite sized pieces on the cookie sheet and baked 17 min. Fantastic!! Will definitely make again and again! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Danielle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Suffolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
Thanks for the recipe -- it's just what I was looking for. I wanted a melt-in-your-mouth cookie and to enhance that I used all confectioner's sugar. I used pecans as they are softer and have the flavor I wanted. I toasted the pecans lightly and then chopped them finely. I also added a pinch of salt. I refrigerated overnight. After baking and cooling I coated them liberally with powdered sugar, a lot more than the recipe calls for, and let them sit undisturbed for awhile. That way the sugar sticks. One change I would make next time: They flattened rather than remaining as balls, so biting one causes powdered sugar to fly! I'll make them quite small next time so you can pop a whole one in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nashville, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Long Island, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
My husband loved these cookies! We made two batches; one to give away and the other we ate. [oink oink :)] We did not find it necessary to chill the dough. We did as others suggested and use powdered sugar instead of granulated sugar.We used pecans; turned out great.Smaller sized balls seemed to bake better. Thank you for this recipe; we ate a similar cookie at a party last summer and we had been wanting to make some. We are going to make another batch tomorrow. yum yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
If prepared as the instructions say (DO NOT OVER CHILL)this recipe is AWESOME. My family and friends can't get enough. Thanks for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
I am very unimpressed. I made two batches of batter and let it chill overnight. It was too difficult to actually get the batter from the bowl and shape them, then they turned to liquid butter in the cookie pans. Finally I put them in muffin pans and only half turned out right while the other half turned to . What did "come out" were paper thin, and tasted like . DO NOT TRY THIS RECIPE
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Belfair, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
these cookies are sooooooooo yummy this is a GREAT recipes they are good for the hoildays or any time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Visalia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
excellent cookies! followed recipe as written, but did add 1/4 cup powdered sugar to the mix. also toasted the almonds before using. five statrs! just like moms :):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen Zaragoza

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
This is a recipie that I make for my family and friends every year at Christmas. I make several batches using different extract's, my favorite is peppermint flavor. This year I am going to try lemon and orange extracts, I'll let you know how they tuned out. Seriously, I don't think that you can ever go wrong with any flavor you choose with these cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I am very unimpressed. I definitely should have read more reviews and swapped out the sugar. These cookies are way too dry and not tasty at all and as others have said the confectioners sugar doesn't stick well to them. I will be searching for a better recipe for this cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenda Kelly Ducote

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Rainbow Cookies

See how to make moist, layered cookies loaded with almond flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States