Mexican Wedding Cookies (Polvorones) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
These were delicious and easy to make! I would probably double the recipe ... made about 25 cookies which disappeared too quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2010
these are very nice. definitely double the vanilla in the recipe. i used pecans..nice and added a few very fine chocolate chips like the store bought kind..also nice, but too much chocolate overwhelms the delicate buttery taste...yes..real butter only. takes more like 2 -2 1/2 cups of sugar to coat well...worth the effort...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Was dissappointed how bland these cookies were. I added 2 tsp of vanilla and 1 tsp almond. I used pecans instead of walnuts. I don't think I will make these again. My family did not care for them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I was so excited to see "Mexican Wedding Cookies" here as they are a family favorite at Christmas. However, this recipe calls for shortening?!?! My mother, grandmother and great-grandmother all used real butter. So, I made a half batch as written with the butter-flavor shortening and a batch with real butter. . . sooo much better with butter! The shortening cookies tasted a bit, well, store-bought. Other slight alterations with the butter recipe: heaping 1/2 cup powdered sugar in the dough, 2 1/4 cups flour and only 1 cup nuts. The rest was the same. These are my hubby's favorite Christmas cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
We call these snowball cookies or snowballs and the are the same basic cookies. I don't have my recipe in front of me but off the top of my head it's relatively the same ingredients. These are awesome pop in your mouth and enjoy cookies. Great with a cup of coffee or tea....I have also seen these called Russian Tea cakes. If you like walnuts definitely include them in your recipe but for someone who doesn't like the walnuts or is allergic they come out fine without them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This is my all-time favorite Christmas cookie recipe. But real butter is the only way to go. And use pecans. Carefully roll the delicate cookies in a ziploc filled with powdered sugar when they are warm. A second dip is always nice too because sometimes the sugar kinda soaks in the first time around. Melt in your mouth delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Love these , I change it up and add cinnamon to powder sugar and roll them in that . I also add fresh ground nutmeg maybe 1/8 tsp .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ldygem35

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
Have made these many times. Personal preference calls for pecans instead of walnuts. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
This recipe was FANTASTIC...the only modification I made was I also added 1/2 tsp of almond extract...we have been buying store bought wedding cookies around the holidays for years and I wasn't sure I would find a recipe just like them. This is just as good if not better, rave reviews from all my family that ate the cookies. Another great thing was I used gluten-free flour, so now everyone can enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TeresaA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loudon, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2010
Anything with powdered sugar on it is a hit in our house. I sometimes use extra vanilla for a richer taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States