Mexican Wedding Cookies (Polvorones) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Although these tasted good, they flattened out so much when baking that there was no way to roll them in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
I used butter instead of shortening and rolled the cookies in sugar twice; the first roll left them soggy looking, the second roll in sugar seemed to stick better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Dissapointing. These cookies look great but that was about all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jodi
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
These are pretty good, I don't love them but my DH does. The conf. sugar didn't stick real well for me (certainly not like the picture but I'm not a pro with cookies either :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jodi

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
Loved the light shortbread texture, not as dense as some other recipes. I used real butter and 3/4 C of powdered sugar in the dough and still found it too sweet. Will use 1/2 C next time. Crushed walnuts work wonderfully!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2010
They were good, but I think I would make them with butter next time. You can really taste the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Prepared a batch for book club meeting and they turned out great. Everyone really enjoyed them so I will make them with pecans in next batch.Recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
I loved the taste of these cookies!! I did however use butter instead of shortening. I also added a 1/2 tsp of almond extract and used pecans instead of walnuts. My husband only got a couple and was begging for some more. I was disappointed in that the cookies didn't stay round as I baked them. They went a little flat. I don't know if I did something wrong. I wanted and expected them to look like snowballs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Delish!!! These kind of cookies are my mother-in-laws favs and she LOVED them!! I followed the exact recipe! The only one thing I did differently is before I put them on the rack to cool I sprinkled them with powdered sugar then let them cool, then dunked them in the powdered sugar then let them finish cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinMama72
Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Now this is a cookie! Tasted absolutely fantastic. I used real butter instead of shortening and used one teaspoon of almond extract and one teaspoon of vanilla extract and it gave it a nice twist. A must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States