Mexican Wedding Cookies (Polvorones) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
A very nice wedding cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Monster

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Too sweet for me but my son just loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sonora, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
i found the only way to shape the cookie into a ball was i had to actually knead the dough before making balls was alot of extra time but cookie was ok
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by elaine

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Newburyport, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Salisbury, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
EASY TO MAKE AND DELICIOUS. THESE WERE A BIG HIT AT CHRISTMAS. I DIDN'T HAVE ANY BUTTER FLAVORED CRISCO SO I USED LARD AND IT MADE THEM O SO FLAKY AND GOOD. NOT EXACTLY HEALTHY BUT REALLY GOOD.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
I made these for Christmas and made them with pecans instead, and we couldn't stop eating them. Very simple and delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
These were very tasty with a nice nutty texture. They did flatten out while cooking but I coated them in powdered sugar once they had cooled a bit. I don't think my stomach was offended that they weren't perfectly round!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KANANICOOKS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Sarajevo, Federation Of Bosnia And Herzegovina, Bosnia And Herzegovina

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
Oh my gosh, these are wonderful. I, too, used butter instead of shortening. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Iona, Idaho, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
these were very good i made them for christmas for gifts and everyone love them a big hit
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUTI2

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
I made these cookies for Christmas to go along with our traditional Mexican themed feast. They were great tasting and everyone enjoyed them. The only draw back was they didn't hold their shape. I had shaped them into crescents and was hoping they would stay to form. But once place into the oven they flattened out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Iwakuni, Yamaguchi, Japan
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
I loved these when I was a kid but haven't had them for several decades. Making them was very easy! I made some changes though. I used spectrum organic shortening (no hydrogenated oils) instead of crisco. I added 1 tsp almond extract, this was key. I replaced one of the cups of AP flour with whole wheat pastry flour. I also ended up having to do 1/2 walnuts and pecans because I ran out of walnuts. Delicious. My 3 year old couldn't handle the walnut sized cookies well with the sugar so I made a smaller tray for her and I think in the future I will make them all a bit smaller. They can get very messy so smaller is easier for everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States