Mexican Wedding Cookies (Polvorones) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Delicious! tastes just like my moms, I did not have the recipe and I was reading the ingredients it was just like something my mom would use. So I tried it and it was like it!! took me back in time. Only difference is I did not have enough Crisco on hand. I used I /2 Crisco, 1/2 butter. don't skimp on the walnuts! this is a keeper! Telma
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Puyallup, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2014
These cookies were such a huge hit that I have friends specifically requesting them!!!!!! I too substituted vanilla extract with artificial almond extract. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2013
These were made for a child Spanish class food celebration. They were a hit being moist, light with a different twist for your taste buds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2012
This is an extremely good cookie. I followed the recipe exactly, but took a recommendation from a reviewer to use butter instead of shortening. It's a very sweet cookie, due to the fact that you use powdered sugar in the batter. The salt content could almost be increased just barely to balance off the sweetness because I didn't taste any of the salt. I think these will be a great cookie to make at Christmas time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by slfortson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montgomery, Alabama, USA
Photo by MrsFisher0729
Reviewed: May 16, 2012
I grew up with these in crescent shapes! Loved the flavor. I used half walnuts and half pecans (what we used when I was a kid).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Yummy! Easy pleasy, and fun to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2011
Perfect, as is! These have been a huge hit at all my family parties!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by NVM
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
My sister made these growing up. I loved them. I'm glad I found the recipe here. They are delicious. If I don't have walnuts, I use pecans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NVM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
These were wonderful, and got me out of my chocolate chip funk. I added the extra vanilla and I think it made my cookies flatten out. I didn't like how the powdered sugar caked the warm cookies so I used a flour sifter to dispence the sugar evenly. Will definetly make these again, maybe with a small bit of jam.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bakingthedayaway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I used 1 cup of margarine instead of shortening and used 1 cup of chocolate chips instead of walnuts. I LOVED how the recipe turned out. Oh, if the powdered sugar doesn't stick, put it in a plastic bag and place 2 cookies in there at a time and shake it for a few seconds. Take them out and then in 10MIN, powder them again and the coating sticks much better and it's thicker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaQueTeGusta
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make classic chocolate-chip cookies.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

Hedgehog Cookies

Melted chocolate and chopped pecans turn cookies into fun hedgehogs!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States