Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 6, 2009
These were fantastic! I made them to take to a Cinco de Mayo Fiesta and had to keep a few for myself! I softened the butter slightly in the microwave and then mixed it with 1 tsp of vanilla. I used walnuts, but I processed them super fine before mixing them in the batter. It is important to make these very small when shaping! They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita Falls, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2009
These were very good. Very light and not overly sweet. Next time I will double the vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
Loved these cookies. I made these with nuts and without nuts.Taste great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Great, simple recipe. I've tried others that have baking powder, and other ingredients, but this simple version is better. I personally like to double the vanilla though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2009
Made this exactly as written & the cookies turned out wonderful - Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2008
We used to only find these at the Bon Marche (now Macy's) in Seattle. I came looking for this recipe when I got married 6 years ago. They were such a big hit, and tasted exactly the way I had remembered them, that I started making these for Christmas time too. The only change I have made over the years, is slight. I like to add a little spice of some kind. So far pumpkin pie spice is a winner in my house, however ginger and cinnamon work well to. Just add to your personal taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leeann Finley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I like making these for Christmas, they're quite yummy! Very important to wait until they completely cool before rolling in powdered sugar. Give them a couple minutes on the baking sheet before you transfer to a wire wrack, they will be a lot easier to handle. My only cimplaint: wish I'd had a melon baller to make them perfectly even : (
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsDeeBee

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oxnard, California, USA
Living In: Norfolk, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
These were excellent! I loved them and will make them again. I did have to keep dipping them in the powdered sugar a few days later, because it all fell off. But, lots of powdered sugar is a must, so I didn't mind. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Whiteland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2008
I love this recipe. I tried it with the walnuts and then with pecans instead. Both are wonderful. I rolled them in some special sparkly sugar after the powdered sugar and put them in little paper baking cups. They looked lovely this way. My best friend begged for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sylvia C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
amazing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States