Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
We call these polvorones and I hadn't had one since I left Texas five years ago. I ground the walnuts in my Magic Bullet before adding them to the mixture. They were sooo delicious I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly - good cookies... but I was left with a dry taste in my mouth... Some people say to double the vanilla... I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Mmmmm, so tender they melt in your mouth. My whole family loves these. My aunt actually told me I should be selling these! HaHaHa....if I only had the time! Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great! I used 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, and ground almonds. These are so delicate, and taste on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
These were so easy and were just the taste I was looking for, tried a few recipes but could never quite get it. These are a keeper. They were so fast and easy the kids could do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Republic, Missouri, USA
Photo by itsacookinglife
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2009
Easy recipe, quite delicious. Especially liked by the older ladies in my family who appreciate nuts, butter, less sugar. Quite a dense and rich cookie, perfect for tea time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by itsacookinglife

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
this is the best recipe ever. easy my family love it....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Use Pecans!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
These are very good. I have made them several times, with one change a must for me. I have only ever had Mexican wedding cakes with pecans, not walnuts. I did try the walnuts, but didn't care for them; the flavor was not the rich taste I look for in this cookie. I did grind the pecans quite fine in the food processor first, think that contributes to the shortbread-like texture that is the hallmark of a good Mexican wedding cake cookie, IMHO. I used my smallest cookie scoop for this, and baked them on Air Bake pans as they are quite delicate and overbrown easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
Good..not great..a little on the dry side and not to much flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States