Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
A very simple, very good light Mexican Wedding Cake. I served these at a Mexican themed bridal shower, so they were a perfect dessert. I used black walnut extract because we were out of vanilla, but I strongly encourage you to use Mexican vanilla because it tastes a little different and isn't expensive. The only issue that I had was that these were very crumbly and they didn't all make it through the rolling in powdered sugar process. I will toast the walnuts next time, too. Great cookie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xiaocupcake

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fayetteville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CPA
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2010
Melt in your mouth. Instead of walnuts I used toasted pine nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CPA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
This was my first time around trying to make this type of cookie, and I am not disappointed. I made the dough the night before I baked them (kids interrupted me). When I took the dough out of the fridge it was a little too stiff to work with, but 10 minutes on the counter took care of that. I made 2 different sizes (baked on separate sheets), nickel size, and half-dollar size balls. I fit 48 of the small ones on the first sheet, and about 18 larger ones on the second sheet. I baked the small ones for about 8 minutes and the large ones for 11 minutes. Both batches turned out perfect, and they were so easy. Definitely wait until they are totally cooled off before you roll them in the powdered sugar, I got excited and rolled a few too early because I wanted to try them. The powdered sugar gets all gooey if they are still warm. Awesome recipe, thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2009
very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
Delish! Substituted pecans for the walnuts. Mmm!!! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Perfect! These turned out delicious and were very easy to make! I did use 1 full tsp vanilla but only 1 cup of finely chopped walnuts. PERFECT! Will defiantly make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jenna
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
We call these polvorones and I hadn't had one since I left Texas five years ago. I ground the walnuts in my Magic Bullet before adding them to the mixture. They were sooo delicious I couldn't stop eating them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laredo, Texas, USA
Living In: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Followed the recipe exactly - good cookies... but I was left with a dry taste in my mouth... Some people say to double the vanilla... I'll try that next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2009
Mmmmm, so tender they melt in your mouth. My whole family loves these. My aunt actually told me I should be selling these! HaHaHa....if I only had the time! Thanks for this keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dora Gonzalez Moreno

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntington Park, California, USA
Living In: Ontario, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
Great! I used 1/2 cup powdered sugar, 1 tsp vanilla, 1/4 tsp salt, and ground almonds. These are so delicate, and taste on point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Juliann

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 51-60 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States