Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
This is a new Christmas tradition in our family. I made this recipe last year and next and we love them. I give a variety of cookies to the neighbors and many claim this to be their favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynJudd

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2011
These were easy to make & delicious. I have never made them before but they are my husband's favorite so I thought I'd try. I did alter 2 things - I added 1t of vanilla as one reviewer suggested & I only added 5T of powdered sugar. The dough was crumbly and I was worried that I messed something up but they held together and baked up great. We rolled them in powdered sugar after they were completely cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2011
I added the following changes after making the recipe as written the first time. The original way was good but I wanted to modify a bit so I used 1 full tsp vanilla as I love the flavor. Then I used pecans instead of walnuts as I'm surrounded by pecan trees. Next time I will add a "little"bourbon or rum flavoring or liquor along with the vanilla. This will jazz it up for the holidays too. You cannot really mess up this recipes as its super simple. Make as written or experiment to your liking. To ensure you get even coating that adheres, roll the balls while warm from the oven in the powered sugar then place the coated balls in the fridge for 30 minutes to an hour to cool. Then repeat rolling in powered sugar. Lastly, make sure you take a couple for yourself as they will disappear before you know it! Thanks for sharing Julie =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2011
first time making AND tasting. they were better than I thought they would be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2011
This recipe needed some modificaion to make it just right. The vanilla needed to be doubled, the nuts needed to be very finely chopped and cut back to back to 1.5 cups, and 1/4 teaspoon salt added. I also roll the cookies in melted butter before rolling them in powdered sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
These are great and super easy. I suggest chopping the walnuts finely. Remember not to put the powdered sugar on until they are cool, because the sugar will melt. Also, they look great in mini cupcake liners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westport, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
VERY easy to make - and very fast also! These are super tasty! I've used this recipe several times now but this last time I took chocolate chips and put a couple in each ball (rolled the chocolate chips inside/the middle of the cookie before I baked it). Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2011
I love mexican wedding cakes!! This recipe was great and simple. I substituted almond extract for almonds since the kids don't like actual nuts in their food and it tasted awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2011
Very easy and tasty! I also omitted the powdered sugar from the mix and used salted butter. Worked very well. I also put the nuts in my food processor to make them very small. Helped with the texture a lot! The trick is not to make the too big and not to handle the mix any more than necessary. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
these are by far my favorite wedding cookie recipe. i tried some of the others on allrecipes and these taste the most like the danish wedding cookies you get at the store in the pink box. the only thing i did different was add a little bit of cinnamon to the confectionary sugar that you roll the cookies in. i also used pecans very finely chopped in stead of walnuts. i weighed all the cookies on a scale so they would bake evenly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States