Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Very simple recipe, and as good as the ones I grew up with. I doubled the recipe, and used half walnuts, half pecans. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shine On

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
These were very easy to make and have great texture, but I have a super sweet-tooth and they weren't quite as sweet as I'd like. They were still very good, and will make a nice addition to the Christmas cookie line-up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
Easy & delicious!! I used almonds for the nut component. Everyone loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2008
We were looking for something to bring to dessert to follow a Mexican dinner at a friend's house and this recipe was the one. I had misplaced my pastelitos de boda recipe from years ago and was glad to find it. We used pecans chopped up in the food processor instead of walnuts; first batch some of the cookies broke when removing from cookie sheet. Probably letting them cool a bit would prevent that. Make sure the butter is not too soft; if you melt the butter too much, it makes the dough too sticky to form balls easily. Don't form the balls too big. The cookies are really muy ricas; delicate and reminiscent of a shortbread. The cupcake liners for serving really amp up the elegance in presentation; our friends were delighted to receive them; you can put them in the liners on a "silver" platter from a dollar store or a tray or plate lined with gift wrap, covered with colored or clear plastic wrap.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
these were very good, although not as buttery as i have made before, very easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2008
Being a diabetic, I have lerned to change recipies around to make them more Diabetic friendly. I like this recipie because it doesn't call for alot of the confectioners sugar do I can actually eat mre than one. I make this every Christmas for my family and friends. I make several batches changing the extracts. My favorite is peppermint. This year I am going to try lemon and orange. I also read a review where theperson colored the dough, that sounds like fun especially where I like to use peppermint extract. I'll let you know how they turn out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellingham, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
Wow, these are great and I only used 1 c. chopped walnuts. I accidentally didn't buy enough walnuts but 1 c. seemed to be a good amount anyway. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
Delicious!! This cookie is a MUST at Christmas for my family. Great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaurenElyse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2008
Awesome! I put one cup of chopped walnuts and one cup of sweetened flaked coconut that I toasted. Instead of leaving them round, I flattened them a little. You can put them about an inch apart because they hardly spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie's Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Ramon, California, USA
Living In: Plano, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
This is my favorite mexican wedding cake recipe - I follow it exactly - they turn out perfect every time!! Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States