Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 13)
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2007
This turned out pretty good! However, I think they were a little more dry than other recipes, and next time I'll try adding a little more butter. Also, I changed the shape to a 1/4" thick rectangle and dipped it in chocolate. came out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
one of my favorite cookies to make. my coworkers are constantly asking about these. i make these during the holidays and give them out in little tins as gifts. i also roll them into smaller balls about 3/4 of an inch and its bite size. for a little extra indulgence.. i roll them in powdered sugar twice. once about 5 mins after taking them out of the oven, then right when they are completely cool for a little more sweetness. i totally recommend this yummy cookie :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2007
I don't really bake so this was awesome. I forgot about a Mexican fiesta potluck at work & this was the easiest recipe late at night. Easy & Yum! I usually *have* to have chocolate in some way with baked goods. These were perfect. Definitely rolled them twice in sugar. My fiancee was jealous of my work peeps. I had to set aside a batch for us, er, him. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2007
Wonderful. I used almonds and almond extract jut for a change from the usual vanilla. Even my mother in law who is a wondeful baker loved these!!! Also did roll them in sugar twice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lakeville, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2007
Super Super Easy recipe, I just had to cook them a little longer than stated. My guest at my Mexican Fiesta ate them up! I plan on making a double batch next time and just freeze the dough so I can always have it on hand, they were that good! Great cookie for the kids!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2007
I used to buy these cookies at a local department store bakery. When I got married three years ago, I knew I wanted these cookies. When I went to buy them, the store had gone out of business. With this recipe, I got the cookie I remembered, I was able to make enough for 100 guests the night before my wedding, they are so easy. I now make them when I bake my christmas cookies every year, and they still get the most compliments. Every one loves the "melt in your mouth" texture. I like to drizzle them in a little chocolate after I roll them in powdered sugar, as a finishing touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2007
Sorry. I bake often but these were a mess-- floury, crumbly, and flavorless. Nothing like the Mexican Wedding Cakes I've had before.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MsMellie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2007
These are one of my favorite cookies! I love this recipe as it is, it is perfect. I will make it a part of my baking every Christmas now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
So yummy. Reminds me of my moms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam Pearce

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2007
I have made these cookies over the years under various different names. These received the most compliments, though. Out with the other recipes. So easy, too! The other recipes were telling me to roll once in powdered sugar while still warm, then again when cool. It never adhered to the cookie right. These work and much LESS work! Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 121-130 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States