Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
These cookies were a hit! I followed the recipe exactly and they cooked perfectly. Make sure you roll them in the powdered sugar while they are still hot. This allows the sugar to stick to the cookies, giving them their sweet taste. They melt in your mouth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
Wake back..at the beginning of the month..I made these. GREAT!!!!! The confectioners sugar and walnut factor were greatly liked. Will totally make again to for anything Mexican related..or to use up some walnuts!!! >>so easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kaley_Rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2008
These were pretty good. At first I was skeptical. They definitely have to cool completely before you can move them off of the baking sheet to the cooling rack as they fall apart. My son and I made these for a spanish class project for school tomorrow but I think I'll stick to an old recipe I have that are more moist and sturdy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oxford, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Collierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2008
This recipe was exactly what I was looking for in an eggless cookie. I was also successful using hazelnuts and pecans in place of the almonds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2008
These are delicious! I add some cinnamon and other spices as well as chocolatechips and drizzle them with melted chocolate which is the way I've been taught to make them but I LOVE the original as well. They taste even better with some almonds too. My family has always loved these ever since my sister made them for spanish class and I even remember making them for lemonade stands and bake sales for years and this recipe is one of the best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by belisimabaker

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I halved the original recipe ingredients and rolled each cookie into about one inch balls and still came out with over 40 cookies. I finely chopped the walnuts as well. I sampled a few when they came out of the oven - they were still moist and chewy and I was a little disappointed that they didn't come out right. Then I let them cool completely (as the recipe states), finished rolling into the sugar and they were so good, just as I remember growing up eating! I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2008
This is the exact same recipe my friend has in his cookbook at home (which we have made many times together around the holidays to give out to friends). One tip, the finer you ground the nuts the better it tastes! I've had them with chunky nuts and with finely ground nuts, and I have to say the finely ground nuts are the way to go. Also, since these cookies easily come together in a ball shape, we've put toffee, butterscotch, and sometimes chocolate in the middle. All you need to do is take three or four chips (of whatever you prefer), flatten out the cookie in your hand, place the chips in the middle, and fold the dough over into a ball shape and bake. This makes it extra tastey and special!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
120 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Manda

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Orange, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2008
This is the recipe that my mother bakes every Christmas. I've told her that she can stop buying me presents and just send a batch of these!!!! I wouldn't change a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jsnowder
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is a great recipe, My boyfriend took them to work. He said he had the whole office talking about them! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsnowder

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2008
My mother in law absolutely LOVED it when I shipped her these cookies for a gift! In addition, it was extra easy to make these! I followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daniel den Hoed

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spijkenisse, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States