Mexican Wedding Cakes II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2014
I made these to go along with my Mexican themed Thanksgiving dinner and they were amazing! I had no idea what to expect but I was pleasantly surprised at the outcome. My guests also enjoyed them and I got quite annoyed when I realized they were all gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAMM2000

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2014
these taste good but i found them to be crumbly when i took them out of the oven. i made the recipe as written but added 2 tsps of vanilla instead of 1.5. the get a little more solid once they're cool, but some still split apart when i rolled them in sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RobynHG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by karlas-way
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2013
This is the second time I make these cookies. The first time I followed a different recipe and it said to use regular white sugar, this time I made it with confectioners sugar and the cookies are much softer and taste a lot better. Will try this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2013
JUST ok. Needed modified. I made them to the tee and didn't like them. Now if I make them MY way, then I found it loads better to almost melt the butter, mix everything together, but I also added some cinnamon/sugar along with a a pinch of salt and nutmeg. (they DO NOT come out as balls but small drop cookies) The confectioners sugar, if it turns out a bit moist and you can't roll them good, I added the confectioners sugar as it helped with the rolling and drying them up a bit. (spray your hands with PAM butter spray also) i pop them in the confectioners sugar w/cinnamon sugar as soon as they come out of the oven. Not sweet enough or to your liking, drop them in again once they've been coated once and cooled for just a few min =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Came out great, but used 1 cup of chopped walnuts and next time will use more vanilla. There is a little bitter aftertaste from the walnut skins maybe? Over all good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Fabulous! Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2013
These are great, I just cooked them for 9 minutes and used half the pecans (i didnt have enough. They were really softand did not fall apart like most mexican wedding cakes do. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
This is my fav cookie of all time and I always come back to this recipe because you don't need to chill the dough and I'm not a fan of almond extract. I add them to my treat bags for Christmas and people always comment on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2012
These was so good and very easy to make.. I saved it in my recipe box, I'll be making again for sure.. I did notice even after 15 mins of baking at 350, my cookies still wasn't done in the middle.. Maybe my balls was to big, next time I'll just flatten the cookies then bake... A MUST TRY COOKIE RECIPE!! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LovePink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2012
This are great, quick and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Russian Tea Cakes I

See how to make traditional Russian tea cakes rolled in confectioner's sugar.

Italian Wedding Cookies III

These buttery bites are delicious with coffee or tea.

How to Decorate Easter Cakes

Watch three fun ways to decorate an Easter cake.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States