Mexican Wedding Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2013
Well, let me just say, that even my coconut-hating husband slurped this cake up. It was easy to make (followed the recipe exactly except reduced the sugar by 1 cup)and it uses staples that you already have in your kitchen, so no xtra trips to the store. The cake part was not very sweet, just pleasantly so, and I could see if I'd used the 2 cups called for, it really would have been very, very sweet. If that is your thing then go for it. The icing was plenty sweet enough to counter balance the cake so there was just a pleasant amount of sweetness (not too much, not too little)in every bite. And oh, by the way, we were running our finger around the rim to get all of the icing goodness. Seriously, a great, moist cake that I'll make again and again. Thanks so much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2013
awesome cake but i used raw cane sugar and unbleached flour and used more coconut and pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
This recipe is the bomb!!! I make it for my co-workers and they love it. I did not change a thing and it is perfect as is, sweet and moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2012
Super easy and wonderful! The frosting is think and absorbs into the cake making it moist and dense!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2012
Wonderful cake. I added one cup of flaked coconut and it was great. Really moist and delicious. Nice that it was made without any oil.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2011
wunderbar - with less sugar. Great recipe!! But how do you get 24 servings out of a 9x13 inch pan?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I made this for a Mexican themed family dinner and received rave reviews! I also cut the sugar to one cup in the cake batter, and doubled the nuts for the topping. It was even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2009
My daughter was marrying a man from S. Mexico and I wanted to bake some "traditional" cakes mainly for him and his guests from Mexico. This was the only recipe that didn't have a cream cheese frosting, which I know that the guests would not like. I left out one cup of sugar, and added 1/4 cup pecans to the cake itself. I made two, one with and one without coconut. Everyone was very impressed, and I didn't get a piece of either. Thank you for posting this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by FOXY1619
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
I searched for years before finding this recipe. This is my second time making it and the only change I've had to make is to increase the baking time by 15 minutes. Other than that this recipe is dead on. I don't normally have time to allow the cake to cool totally before pouring the sauce on but I don't think it really matters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bamberg, Bayern, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2007
I was bored by the idea of beating the frosting and just poured it straight from the pan. I also only used one cup of sugar for the batter - and it turned out pretty much spectacular. It wasn't as soft as I expected - really moist, but still firm enough to not to fall into wet crumbs. Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Pineapple Upside-Down Cake V

See how to make a 5-star pineapple upside-down cake.

How to Make Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

In a topsy-turvy world, this may be the perfect dessert.

Sam's Famous Carrot Cake

Watch how to make a 5-star carrot cake recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States