Mexican Veggies with Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I just wanted to thank the submitter SO MUCH for this recipe because finally it is not a chore to eat vegetables. I make this all the time to get my veggies in. I usually add corn and cilantro because they go so well with this dish. I also use whatever cheese I have on hand and the result is always good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2009
Yum! I made this as written except for cutting my veggies a little chunkier than called for because I like them barely cooked - and I also put the chopped tomatoes at the very end because I had a tomato-hater in the house. This was my first time eating hot jicama and I really liked it in this. Asedero cheese behaves similarly to an American processed cheese, so subbing with a processed Jack cheese would bring you close to the intentional flavor and texture of this dish if you are unable to get Asedero . Thanks for the recipe - delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
I roasted my vegetables instead, drizzled with a bit of olive oil for about 20 min., delicious. Hardo to find the queso asadero, but I used another mexican cheese, and it was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was able to find all of the ingredients including the queso asadero. My only change is that I got this "brilliant" idea to make it a little less fattening. Instead of using a cup of cheese, my idea was to just melt a little and then drizzle it over the finished dish. Problem is that it had been a long time since I had bought this kind of cheese and I had forgotten how thick is stays after melted. All I had to thin it out was half n half. So much for less fattening..ha ha. Next time I will use the entire cup of cheese and make as written. We enjoyed this very much. The jicama did stay a bit crunchy as others mentioned but we liked it that way. Almost forgot, my tomatos had gone bad without me knowing it so I substituted with some red bell pepper. This is a great side to go with Mexican meals. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2009
This will be a great side dish for any mexican main entree. I had just some zucchinis, yellow squashs and tomatoes in my fridge. And I looked up on this site, a vegetable side dish using these 3 veggies. This one sounded good since I needed some vegetables to go with a mexican casserole. I gave it a try, using just what I had in my fridge , plus onions and garlic Also added some cilantro). I did not have the cheese it called for either. But it still came out delicious. Thanks you so much for this good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I didn't have jicama or chayote on hand, so I used quartered brussel sprouts which I sauted about 15 min prior to adding the squash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I really liked the veggies. Lots of flavor. As I started cooking looked like too much seasoning, but tasted really good. My husband is not a big squash fan so he thought they were only ok....does make al ot of veggies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was given to me by the creator today while I was looking for a side dish! this is really yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Smith

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eglin Afb, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
No one went crazy over this. I couldnt get the jicama cooked. I would suggest cutting into very small pieces and cooking them first. The squash and zucchini were very mushy by the time I was finished cooking and the jicama still was too hard. Or leave the jicama out all together. I dont like very spicy things and I still thought this didnt have enough flavor. We also used this to fill tortillas which was a good suggestion by another reviewer. You could make this a good dish with additional seasoning and no jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cat Lady Cyndi
Reviewed: May 6, 2010
Absolutely delicious! We loved this dish! I had to leave out the jicama only because my market was all out, and I also couldn't find the cheese, but only had a day to try and find it, so I used velveeta. The seasonings are right on in this dish, not one overpowers the other, they blend perfectly. I can't wait to make this in the summer with zucchini and tomatoes from my garden. Next time I make this (which will be soon), I'm wrapping this mix up in a big burrito sized tortilla and making a meal out of this! Thanks Linda for sharing this recipe, we really enjoyed it :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Levittown, Pennsylvania, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Mexican Corn on the Cob (Elote)

Grill this delicious Mexican corn on the cob and serve with lime.

Mexican Grilled Corn

An amazing grilled corn topped with seasoned mayo and cojita cheese.

Absolute Mexican Cornbread

See how to make moist and tasty cornbread with a kick.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States