Mexican Veggies with Queso Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Very good. I used vegies I had on hand: zucchini, carrots, and broccoli. I cooked the vegies for 10 minutes. I added the fresh tomatoes just before adding cheddar cheese. Will most definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2012
I changed some of the vegetables but did most of what the recipe said to do. I had a chayote, zucchini and tomatoes that needed to be cooked then added cauliflower, fresh corn, thinly sliced 1/4 C. yellow bell pepper and about 1 tsp. of fresh jalapeno pepper. I didn't have jicama on hand and used cheddar instead of mexican cheese. To finish I added about two TBSP of half and half to make it creamier and served it over white rice. I love it and so did my guests. Nice kick but not too hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
Very good and easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
My wife nor I liked this dish. I followed the recipe exactly but I did not like the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wallace, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Cheraw, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
delicious and spicy. good dish for semana santa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2011
I was able to find all of the ingredients including the queso asadero. My only change is that I got this "brilliant" idea to make it a little less fattening. Instead of using a cup of cheese, my idea was to just melt a little and then drizzle it over the finished dish. Problem is that it had been a long time since I had bought this kind of cheese and I had forgotten how thick is stays after melted. All I had to thin it out was half n half. So much for less fattening..ha ha. Next time I will use the entire cup of cheese and make as written. We enjoyed this very much. The jicama did stay a bit crunchy as others mentioned but we liked it that way. Almost forgot, my tomatos had gone bad without me knowing it so I substituted with some red bell pepper. This is a great side to go with Mexican meals. Thanks for sharing Linda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
I didn't have jicama or chayote on hand, so I used quartered brussel sprouts which I sauted about 15 min prior to adding the squash. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Khristin

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2010
No one went crazy over this. I couldnt get the jicama cooked. I would suggest cutting into very small pieces and cooking them first. The squash and zucchini were very mushy by the time I was finished cooking and the jicama still was too hard. Or leave the jicama out all together. I dont like very spicy things and I still thought this didnt have enough flavor. We also used this to fill tortillas which was a good suggestion by another reviewer. You could make this a good dish with additional seasoning and no jicama.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TN Monkeymomma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Carmel, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2010
I really liked the veggies. Lots of flavor. As I started cooking looked like too much seasoning, but tasted really good. My husband is not a big squash fan so he thought they were only ok....does make al ot of veggies...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2010
This was given to me by the creator today while I was looking for a side dish! this is really yummy!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by crystalsmith722

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Eglin Afb, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States