Mexican Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This has become one of my fast weeknight recipes. My husband loves it! I often substitute canned diced tomatoes and sometimes forget the green onions and it is still great. I usually serve it with diced fresh mexican cheese and tortillas and turn it into a taco/burrito of sorts. Great to add cooked chicken or beans as well. Don't skimp on the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
I made this rice without the frozen vegetables and I added some more tomatoes. I served it with Mexican Chicken Kiev, Mexican Corn (submitted by Karen Baldridge) and some sauteed peppers . . . My guests loved the entire meal. The leftover rice was great with eggs too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is a very good rice recipe. I did make the following adjustments. I used Garlic Powder instead of the Cayenne Pepper, I used canned stewed tomatoes (drain the liquid into a measuring cup and add stock to the required mark for the recipe. I also used cilantro instead of the parsley. This is a great side dish. My new favorite mexican rice..thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2002
This was great! Very fresh tasting, and is best served hot. I used fresh veggies, omitted the garlic, and used water for the vegetable stock. I had this with yogurt for a lovely lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband really liked this. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and I used fresh sliced carrots (par-cooked) and frozen peas. It went very well with the Southwestern stuffed chicken brests and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2000
I've been looking for an authentic tasting recipe for Mexican rice for YEARS! This is it!! It comes out fluffy, tasty and extra nutritious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Nice, simple, understated Mexican rice side dish to support and complement a bolder, spicier main dish. In deference to Hubs’ sensitive innards I skipped the cayenne pepper. In deference to my dislike of carrots, I skipped them too. Chicken broth was a flavorful substitute for the vegetable broth. Quiet but pleasant flavor, pretty and colorful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used fresh carrots and broccoli which I added at the same time as the stock, and also added a little more cayenne pepper than instructed and the result was amazing. Excellent recipe! Also very good to fry some chicken and add it at the same time as the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
A yummy side dish for any main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
We enjoyed the flavor of this very much. I didn't have enough long grain white so mixed with basmati and brown, which was a wrong move, but still very tasty recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States