Mexican Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
A yummy side dish for any main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I used fresh carrots and broccoli which I added at the same time as the stock, and also added a little more cayenne pepper than instructed and the result was amazing. Excellent recipe! Also very good to fry some chicken and add it at the same time as the tomatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marijke

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2009
We enjoyed the flavor of this very much. I didn't have enough long grain white so mixed with basmati and brown, which was a wrong move, but still very tasty recipe. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookie momma

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2008
My husband really liked this. I used chicken broth instead of vegetable and I used fresh sliced carrots (par-cooked) and frozen peas. It went very well with the Southwestern stuffed chicken brests and cornbread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Santa Rosa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
This is a very good rice recipe. I did make the following adjustments. I used Garlic Powder instead of the Cayenne Pepper, I used canned stewed tomatoes (drain the liquid into a measuring cup and add stock to the required mark for the recipe. I also used cilantro instead of the parsley. This is a great side dish. My new favorite mexican rice..thanks for a great recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2007
This was delicious. I served it for 80 people at a party and I had to tell everyone where to get the recipe. I used a bag of mixed vegetables and change the vegies every once in a while. Someone told me to had scrambled eggs and chinese vegetables and it would be as good as a restaurant.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie Oishei

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2007
We added extra garlic, several shakes of LA Gold (hot sauce) & a full 15oz. can of chili seasoned diced tomatoes. Like others, we used fresh vegetables (mushrooms) along w/ the frozen peas. Without several seasoning adjustments, the rice would be quite bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: White Oak, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Westminster, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2006
Weird, my review of this disappeared... I made this with fresh peas and carrots. I also threw in a lot of cumin, paprika, and some tomato paste because, as written, it was quite bland. I served it with 'Chipotle Chicken' from this site. It was very tasty, and I would make it again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This has become one of my fast weeknight recipes. My husband loves it! I often substitute canned diced tomatoes and sometimes forget the green onions and it is still great. I usually serve it with diced fresh mexican cheese and tortillas and turn it into a taco/burrito of sorts. Great to add cooked chicken or beans as well. Don't skimp on the cayenne!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fresno, California, USA
Living In: Clovis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2003
Good, not "wow", not blah, but good. Basic rice with veges added. Went really good with fish, easy enough to make again, but using canned Mexican diced tomatoes for more of a flair. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 23) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States