Mexican Vegetable Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2014
I tweaked it. Cut the cayenne in half, added 1tbls cumin, and sautéed diced yellow, red, and orange peppers. Did not add the mixed peas/carrots. Strained 1 16oz can of diced tomatoes. 2 cups black beans. Topped with a scoop of Greek yogurt and avocado. Delicious!! 5 stars now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by just_jam
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2014
i wanted this to be better than just okay but it left me feeling like it needed something more.. i used less cayenne b/c i didn't want it to overpower everything else.. used half the salt.. i added it when combining everything and felt it was plenty given the fact that i cooked the rice in chicken bouillon.. used frozen peas and fresh carrots that i stir fried a bit before adding.. loved the addition of the fresh tomato.. and wondered why you would add parsley and not cilantro to a mexican dish (i used cilantro).. added chili powder, cumin, and a splash of bottled lemon juice and it was much better.. ty for the start of something we enjoyed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2013
Very versatile dish. I sauteed some sliced carrots in with the shallot and garlic, and also included frozen peas at the end per directions. Used chicken broth instead of veg stock and left out tomatoes, parsley and green onion. Here's the thing with the cayenne, it can be VERY spicy if you serve at that proportion immediately. Also, if you cook it down the full 20 min plus with the rice, it should be less powerful. My rice cooked much faster, not giving the cayenne time to absorb. That said, if you are not a fan of spicy, definitely cut back on the cayenne, or simmer for at least 20 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2013
Nice, simple, understated Mexican rice side dish to support and complement a bolder, spicier main dish. In deference to Hubs’ sensitive innards I skipped the cayenne pepper. In deference to my dislike of carrots, I skipped them too. Chicken broth was a flavorful substitute for the vegetable broth. Quiet but pleasant flavor, pretty and colorful too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 6, 2012
I served this alongside the " slow cooker guisade verde" recipe from this site for my Cinco de Mayo party. Every one enjoyed it. I used canned diced tomatoes and cilantro instead of parsley. Next time I make it I will experiment with other veg and spices. Can't mess this one up. Thanks Michelle!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Julie
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
Loved this and so did my guest. Rice seemed a little over cooked, but I'll tweak that next time and should be perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Elkhart, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Excellent rice recipe. I used a tablespoon of paprika with and red pepper flakes instead of cayenne pepper; also I used the suggestion to omit vegetables and double the tomato and the garlic. I will put a little something extra in next time - like garlic powder and maybe chilie powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
This is the best rice dish I've ever had. The cayenne pepper adds a kick, but not too spicy. I made the 3 serving version using instant white rice. I used 1 cup of instant white rice and 1 cup of vegetable stock. I did not saute the rice beforehand. All else I did the same. I served with Delicious Black Bean Burritos off allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
I made a few revisions that didn't quite work so well. I omitted the tomatoes and substituted corn for carrots because I had neither tomatoes nor carrots. It turned out okay but I think the tomato would have increased the flavor. Regular frozen corn did not seem to fit well with this recipe (although I think grilled corn would have worked) Great overall flavor with the rest of the ingredients thus the high rating. I plan to make it again with the suggested ingredients!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
A yummy side dish for any main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 22) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Rice III

Watch how to make this top-rated Mexican rice dish.

Mexican Rice II

See how to make easy, tasty Mexican rice.

Herbed Rice and Spicy Black Bean Salad

Watch how to make this easy, healthy dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States