Mexican Turkey Stuffed Shells Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
These were OK. I thought the filling was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
These were so delicious and so easy to make! Great for left-over Turkey. Added a little extra ricotta to over-stuff the shells -- was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miss Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Billings, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2006
This was good. Have not made since the first time. The filling was great, but I do not want to fill pasta again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AJRobinson71

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Pedro, California, USA
Living In: Apple Valley, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2006
This recipe was ok, but the name is a bit misleading because it didn't taste much like a Mexican dish. If you're in the mood for some Mexican food I would try something else, like enchiladas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
This was great!! A great alternaive to the italian shells. Original taste the only thing I did was instead of ricotta I added cottage cheese a southern substitute which we use for a lot of italian dishes, and I added green medium enchilada sauce. This was very easy to prepare. I highly recommend it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2005
The stuff fell out of the shells when I'd try to scoop them up after cooking. Also, make sure that all of the shells are covered in sauce so that they cook evenly. Lastly, I didn't love this recipe cuz it was lacking additional flavor...maybe more salt or garlic should be added? Perhaps a bit of lemon juice? Overall, though, it was pretty tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA
Living In: Mountain House, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
This recipe went over well in my family. I couldn't find shells, so I used manicotti. I left off the Monterey Jack to cut some of the fat and calories, and I added a chipotle pepper to the turkey mix. Also, I used one can of hot enchilada sauce and one mild. Good thing, because the turkey mix itself was a little bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2005
We thought these were ok but nothing outstanding. I added some crushed red pepper flakes to the enchilada sauce to give it some heat. Husband thought this would be better with ground beef instead of turkey. I would also recommend using full-fat ricotta cheese. This was the first time I've used the non-fat variety, and it was virtually undetectable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2005
I just made this tonight, and since no one else commented about it being spicy, I'm wondering if I accidently put too much cumin in?!! We liked it, but it was HOT! I'll make again, with less cumin. I didn't have cilantro, and will add next time as well. It also made a lot of stuffing...much more than I expected.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Q

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Hills, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2005
This dish turned out absolutely delicious! My husband has requested that I make this every week. I followed the recipe exact, the only thing I added was a taco packet and Mexican 4 cheese blend. Thanks for posting this - I have now learned a new way to create baked pasta dishes. I used the same recipe technique to make manicotti with traditional spaghetti sauce and ground beef, and also made a chicken cacciatore recipe. (I never knew you could bake noodles in the oven without cooking them first!) I am thrilled :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 25) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States