Mexican Tortilla Breakfast Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2015
This recipe is a good start, and it will deliver a solid breakfast meal. The first time I made it, I wasn't crazy about the sausage as it felt more classic American than Mexican. So, the second time around, I swapped out the sausage for some Johnsonville chorizo, which hit the spot. Also consider adding some taco seasoning to increase the Mexican flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2015
This is a great recipe. I couldn't find a Johnsonville turkey breakfast sausage so used another brand of turkey breakfast sausage and it was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zoe-zoe

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Carrie C.
Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
This came out great. I did omit the chiles due to an allergy. It did need a little extra cook time but that may be because of the pan I used. The sausage was a standout in this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie C.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mc Keesport, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Leroy Township, Ohio, USA
Photo by Courtney Woods
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
We all enjoyed this recipe! I did have to bake it longer than it originally stated though. It was excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Courtney Woods

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fayetteville, Texas, USA
Living In: Columbus, Texas, USA
Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2014
Hearty Brunch! I served with fresh tomatoes and salsa on the side. I do love Johnsonville breakfast links....wished I could have found the spicy ones!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy Capps Lepp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Titusville, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2014
We enjoyed this recipe made with Johnsonville breakfast sausage. Like other cooks, I halved the recipe as it's just the two of us, however, unlike others that found it too loose, we found that my casserole was a bit dry. A dollop of sour cream worked for the first meal. On a reheat, it just became drier. Would I make this again? Yes, I will with some small changes. Nobody beats the quality of Johnsonville sausage. P.S. Sorry, no picture. My dear husband accidently deleted it from the camera.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy Myers

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Crestline, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2014
I halved the recipe and put in a 9 inch pie pan. I used Johnsonville turkey breakfast sausage. This was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dog lover

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Redmond, Washington, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cynthia Ross
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2014
The next time you go out for Mexican food, take some tortilla chips home and bake this casserole for breakfast the next morning. I love the flavors of Mexican food, and this quick and easy egg dish is absolutely magnifico. Especially made with Johnsonville Sausage. Ole!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cynthia Ross

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Beverly Hills, California, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2014
I halved this recipe and served it for dinner with a little sour cream on the side. We thought it was very tasty, and I'd definitely make it again. I used a whole 7 oz can of diced green chiles for the half recipe, and the chips I used were the nacho cheese tortilla chips from Trader Joe's. I used the original breakfast sausage from Johnsonville, and even though it does contain MSG, I did not get a headache or retain water from it---a very happy result! Thanks for a good dinner, Johnsonville!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2014
This comes together really well, & even cut in half! (There's only 3 of us). However!!! You MUST give it plenty of time to "set up" after...no matter how much your mouth begs to just dip in!!! If you serve it too soon it will be all soupy & goopy. Ask me how I know !!! HTH!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Just Tabitha & me

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Chesapeake Beach, Maryland, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Johnsonville® Three Cheese Pasta Primavera

Looking for a flavorful sausage recipe without all the fat? This is it!

Country House Bed and Breakfast Casserole

See how to make a delicious egg, ham, and cheese breakfast casserole.

Country Breakfast Casserole

Watch how to make a classic country-style brunch casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States