Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
Just wanted to add a comment as I live in Mexico and cook Tinga alot and one of the main ingriedents of Traditional mexican tinga is Cinnamon. The cinnamon is very important as it plays a huge part in the flavor. Best to use a few pieces of cinnamon stick rather then powder. Also you really only need 1-2 chipotle´s from a can depending on how hot you want it. A whole can would be VERY hot!! I would also add some chicken stock, for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
545 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2008
I put frozen chicken breasts in my crockpot and covered with the sauteed onions and the tomato / chipotle mixture, then cooked all day on low. When I got home from work, I shredded the chicken (really, practically all I had to do was POKE at the chicken, it was just falling apart!), and added some salt and garlic powder (definitely needs salt). I'm going to let it simmer for another hour or so until my boyfriend gets home from work. Pretty good and totally easy. It's spicy, but not too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
161 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RedRobynNAU

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I have tried this recipe several times, each time reducing the chipotles, and it's still too hot, even for my husband who loves very spicy foods. However it is tasty if you can stand the heat! I am making it again this week with half of a chipotle, so hopefully that will make it manageable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
100 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mmmkay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just wanted to clarify something. Please note that the ingredient list says "chiles to taste". If you are not accustomed to eating very spicy food begin with 1 or 2 peppers and some sauce. Taste it, if you want it hotter, add more! Also, someone mentioned using cinnamon. They do not use cinnamon in it where my in-laws are from in Mexico. I got the recipe from them. Remember that mexican food is very regional. It's taste varies from state to state. Thanks to everyone that took the time to try this recipe and rate it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fredda O.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I was really worried that this wasn't going to come out to our liking after tasting the adobo sauce (my first time having it). However, it tasted really nice after everything simmered together for a while. I used a couple teaspoons of the abobo sauce and only one of the peppers as I was worried it would be too spicy for my wimpy tastebuds. I did throw a clove of garlic in the blender when I pureed the pepper and tomatoes and followed the suggestions of adding a cinnamon stick while simmering. I served these with a little bit of a shredded Mexican cheese blend, sour cream, and chopped cilantro on top. We really enjoyed this recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2008
Mil gracias, Fredda. Had this years ago and lost the recipe. I prepared it in a large, deep black iron skillet and used chicken tenders. I also used canned, fire roasted tomatoes and halved the can of chipotles since I was making it for guests and everyone's take on how hot something is is so relative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CafeAmericano

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Downey, California, USA
Living In: Batesville, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2007
my b/f is from mexico city and he has been trying for months to figure out how his mom made tinga when he was a little boy. well i happened to find this recipe and secretly prepared it for him. he LOVED it..just like momma used to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2008
This was an excellent recipe. The only modifications that I made were from how I have cooked this before and instead of using canned tomatoes, I boiled fresh tomatoes and put them in my belnder with onion, garlic and the chipotle peppers. This was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Theresa Duvall

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2007
This is a good recipe, but a bit too hot for my families taste as made. Next time I will reduce the Chipotle in Adobo sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG!!! This was SOOOOO yummy! I am headed back to work tomorrow after a long (actually, too short) holiday break. I'm looking at piles of laundry and tons of dirty dishes right now (ugh!) and knowing myself, there's nooo way I'll be spending much time preparing dinner because of it. Freda's tinga met my needs exactly - it's cheap, easy / quick to prepare and delicious! I've actually had this recipe in my in-box for quite some time, but it wasn't until my recent trip to Cancun that made me anxious to try it. The resort my hubby and I stayed at had tinga on their buffet. I gave it a try and LOVED it! Fredda's recipe was just as good, if not better. :) The addition of cinnamon (I added a cinnamon stick, broken in half) made this ever so slightly sweet, but in a good way. My only other changes were subbing a shredded rotisserie chicken for chicken breasts and adding a couple "glugs" of chicken broth halfway thru the simmering step. NOTE: I found 2 chipotle peppers / 2 t sauce to be spot on. Served on tostada shells with Boston Bibb lettuce leaves, shredded cheddar cheese, fresh pico de gallo, salsa verde and a dollop of crema (the BEST!) and Mexican rice / pinto beans on the side, this was a SUPERB and eye-appealing meal (the green lettuce, tinga mixture and bright pico looked lovely, almost Christmas-like!). Authentic Jarito's sodas were a perfect accompainment. My hubby commented that I should make this again - SOON! Thanks for sharing, Fredda O! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States