Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My family enjoyed this and I will make it again. I threw all the ingredients into the Slow Cooker with 2 lbs of frozen Chicken. I used 2 chipotle peppers (including seeds) plus 2 tablespoons of sauce and it was just a tad spicy - perfect for my family. I also threw in a stick of cinnamon, broken in half, and I really enjoyed the slight flavor this imparted. I cooked the chicken on low until I got home from work – apx 8 hours. I shredded the meat and returned it to the Slow Cooker for another 2 hours. I served this as the picture shows – with a large leaf of Bibb Lettuce on a Tostada Shell which made for a nice and new (to us) presentation. My family won’t eat sour cream (I love it), but I bet if I stirred some Mexican Crema or Crème Fraiche into the meat just before serving it would be even better and they would never know. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not have chipotle so used chili and burito spice and it was a okay meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Like other reviewers mentioned, the original recipe would have been much too spicy even as someone with a high tolerance for spice! I used 4 chipotles with the seeds removed, which was the perfect amount of heat for my fiance and I. I put the chicken mixture over polenta rather than the tortilla, and topped with guacamole, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used a package of 3 boneless chicken breasts, poached and shredded it, and was shocked to find the cooked meat weighed only 10 oz. Needless to say, my tinga was extremely spicy as I used most of the 7 oz can of peppers. Half the can for 3 chicken breasts is probably too much. Despite that, my husband enjoyed this and he's really not a big fan of Mexican cuisine. Instead of buying ready made tostada shells, I baked corn tortillas on a cookie sheet until crisp, and with the addition of shredded cheddar, sour crean and spinach leaves, this was a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2011
This was quite spicy...and i only used half of the can of chipotle peppers. Other than that it was great...and i skipped the cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2011
This is a great recipe! The flavors are amazing the recipe is easy I made the recipe just like stated and I loved it I haven't stopped using this recipe. Thank You For Sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
This is very good! It is very easy to make and will definitely be a keeper! I use chipotle peppers all the time and always keep them on hand because they give wonderful flavor. I used three peppers from the can and about 2 tbs of adobo sauce. It's not too spicy, I would add more but have to please the whole family. I also added cilantro and a little chicken broth. We used it for taco filling and everyone loved it with a little drizzle of lemon. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tnahinu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
OMG!!! This was SOOOOO yummy! I am headed back to work tomorrow after a long (actually, too short) holiday break. I'm looking at piles of laundry and tons of dirty dishes right now (ugh!) and knowing myself, there's nooo way I'll be spending much time preparing dinner because of it. Freda's tinga met my needs exactly - it's cheap, easy / quick to prepare and delicious! I've actually had this recipe in my in-box for quite some time, but it wasn't until my recent trip to Cancun that made me anxious to try it. The resort my hubby and I stayed at had tinga on their buffet. I gave it a try and LOVED it! Fredda's recipe was just as good, if not better. :) The addition of cinnamon (I added a cinnamon stick, broken in half) made this ever so slightly sweet, but in a good way. My only other changes were subbing a shredded rotisserie chicken for chicken breasts and adding a couple "glugs" of chicken broth halfway thru the simmering step. NOTE: I found 2 chipotle peppers / 2 t sauce to be spot on. Served on tostada shells with Boston Bibb lettuce leaves, shredded cheddar cheese, fresh pico de gallo, salsa verde and a dollop of crema (the BEST!) and Mexican rice / pinto beans on the side, this was a SUPERB and eye-appealing meal (the green lettuce, tinga mixture and bright pico looked lovely, almost Christmas-like!). Authentic Jarito's sodas were a perfect accompainment. My hubby commented that I should make this again - SOON! Thanks for sharing, Fredda O! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
This was really good and easy. Because I wanted to cook it in the crockpot, I just threw whole chicken breast halves in the crockpot and covered with the onion/tomato mixture. I sauteed the onions first and blended in the tomato/chipotle mixture. After several hours, I took the chicken breasts out and shredded them. Then I put the shredded chicken back in to cook for awhile and soak up the liquid. This was my first time using tosdadas and we really liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Plainfield, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2010
i used canned tomato sauce instead of stewed tomatoes because that's what i had on hand. when i made this i only used about two of the chipotle peppers, i can't imagine how spicy a whole can would be! really easy recipe and tastes great too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 153) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States