Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! I made 4 chicken breasts and cut everything in half. This had quite a bit of heat but wasn't too spicy, I'd say medium sweat. The sour cream tamed the fire and was perfect with this. I added shredded lettuce, parmesan and shredded Monteray Jack cheese. All I was missing was a little sliced avocado on top. I don't like onion pieces so I put them into the blender too after I cooked them til soft and translucent. This was so easy and so amazingly fantastic! I simmered this about an hour. Thanks for sharing, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to prepare and tasty! I was in a rush and did not puree the tomatoes with the chipotle peppers. I minced 2 chipotle peppers, added them in the stewed tomatoes and added about 1.5 Tbsp of the adobo sauce in the mixture. Great tasting! Would definitely make it again, and thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fantastic! Made as written. Yep! - It's spicy, but DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The main thing that is missing from this recipe is all the delicious toppings that REALLY make these delicious! My husband is from Mexico and we usually spread the sour cream on the tostada, heap on the tinga, top with Mexican crumbling cheese, chopped lettuce and salsa! These additions make this excellent rather than just good. The tinga itself is delicious, although there is really only need for one pepper to make it gringo style :), or kid friendly. I would have liked two, but anymore than that and it would have been too hot, so add a pepper, blend, taste and add another if you think you like more heat, just don't dump the whole can if this is your first time making it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband & son LOVED this, altho I did use 1/2 the chipotles(& it was HOT). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yummy! I'm a wimp and couldn't handle a whole can of chiptole in adobo, so I only used about half. This is tasty stuff...I'll definitely make it again. *EDIT: I've made this over and over and over now...it's one of my favorite AR recipes ever...love the tingle of chiptole! My favorite way to eat this is in a flour tortilla with some sour cream, but I'm sure the tostada way is great too. I've read some reviews that say it's not authentic, but even if it's not, I don't give a rip...it TASTES great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
My family enjoyed this and I will make it again. I threw all the ingredients into the Slow Cooker with 2 lbs of frozen Chicken. I used 2 chipotle peppers (including seeds) plus 2 tablespoons of sauce and it was just a tad spicy - perfect for my family. I also threw in a stick of cinnamon, broken in half, and I really enjoyed the slight flavor this imparted. I cooked the chicken on low until I got home from work – apx 8 hours. I shredded the meat and returned it to the Slow Cooker for another 2 hours. I served this as the picture shows – with a large leaf of Bibb Lettuce on a Tostada Shell which made for a nice and new (to us) presentation. My family won’t eat sour cream (I love it), but I bet if I stirred some Mexican Crema or Crème Fraiche into the meat just before serving it would be even better and they would never know. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
I did not have chipotle so used chili and burito spice and it was a okay meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wellington , Wellington, New Zealand

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
Like other reviewers mentioned, the original recipe would have been much too spicy even as someone with a high tolerance for spice! I used 4 chipotles with the seeds removed, which was the perfect amount of heat for my fiance and I. I put the chicken mixture over polenta rather than the tortilla, and topped with guacamole, and it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used a package of 3 boneless chicken breasts, poached and shredded it, and was shocked to find the cooked meat weighed only 10 oz. Needless to say, my tinga was extremely spicy as I used most of the 7 oz can of peppers. Half the can for 3 chicken breasts is probably too much. Despite that, my husband enjoyed this and he's really not a big fan of Mexican cuisine. Instead of buying ready made tostada shells, I baked corn tortillas on a cookie sheet until crisp, and with the addition of shredded cheddar, sour crean and spinach leaves, this was a tasty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norristown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Salisbury, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States