Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 18, 2011
adding shredded cabbage and letting it cook with the restof the ingredients tastes awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2011
Very delicious. But I only used one pepper out of the can & that was PLENTY! I had to add an 8 oz can of tomato sauce though to turn down the heat just a tad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
This was delicious and so easy! I used a rotisserie chicken which made it super fast (and tender). I used half the can of chipotle, and the spice level was perfect. I followed the recommendation to put a cinnamon stick in, but probably didn't put enough (only a 2.5 inch stick), so I might try more next time. I don't like tostadas, so I just put the mixture on soft corn tortillas with grated cheddar, cilantro, and sour cream. My fiance loved it, and he's the foodie between us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
SUPERB!! Absolutely delicious! I used fresh tomatoes and put it all in the crock pot for about 5 hours on low. Once the meat cooled, I discarded the fat, bones and skins and shredded the meat by hand. I then returned the chicken to the tomato sauce that it cooked in. I made tostadas with this meat topped it off with avocado & queso fresco. AMAZING!!!! I will be making this again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bridget
Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
Delicious! I made 4 chicken breasts and cut everything in half. This had quite a bit of heat but wasn't too spicy, I'd say medium sweat. The sour cream tamed the fire and was perfect with this. I added shredded lettuce, parmesan and shredded Monteray Jack cheese. All I was missing was a little sliced avocado on top. I don't like onion pieces so I put them into the blender too after I cooked them til soft and translucent. This was so easy and so amazingly fantastic! I simmered this about an hour. Thanks for sharing, I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
Very easy to prepare and tasty! I was in a rush and did not puree the tomatoes with the chipotle peppers. I minced 2 chipotle peppers, added them in the stewed tomatoes and added about 1.5 Tbsp of the adobo sauce in the mixture. Great tasting! Would definitely make it again, and thanks for the recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2011
Fantastic! Made as written. Yep! - It's spicy, but DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Portland, Michigan, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
The main thing that is missing from this recipe is all the delicious toppings that REALLY make these delicious! My husband is from Mexico and we usually spread the sour cream on the tostada, heap on the tinga, top with Mexican crumbling cheese, chopped lettuce and salsa! These additions make this excellent rather than just good. The tinga itself is delicious, although there is really only need for one pepper to make it gringo style :), or kid friendly. I would have liked two, but anymore than that and it would have been too hot, so add a pepper, blend, taste and add another if you think you like more heat, just don't dump the whole can if this is your first time making it! Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
My husband & son LOVED this, altho I did use 1/2 the chipotles(& it was HOT). Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2011
Yummy! I'm a wimp and couldn't handle a whole can of chiptole in adobo, so I only used about half. This is tasty stuff...I'll definitely make it again. *EDIT: I've made this over and over and over now...it's one of my favorite AR recipes ever...love the tingle of chiptole! My favorite way to eat this is in a flour tortilla with some sour cream, but I'm sure the tostada way is great too. I've read some reviews that say it's not authentic, but even if it's not, I don't give a rip...it TASTES great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 51-60 (of 143) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States