Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was very good! I didn't use the peppers (scared) but I did use the adobo sauce:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This dish turned out great! I browned the chicken first, onions and garlic and added to the crockpot. You will have to add the chipotle peppers accordingly to your taste. I was afraid of making this dish too spice, so I only used 1 chipotle pepper and some of the adobo sauce, I’m glad I did it otherwise it would have been too spice for us. Once ready, I added some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Instead of canned tomatoes, I just boil 3-5 fresh tomatoes in the chicken stock for about 3-5 minutes (until the peels crack for easy removal). Then I puree with only 1/4 of the can of chipotle. Additional toppings: cotija cheese or fresh goat cheese, and shredded lettuce. Also, try smearing the sour cream on the tostada shell before topping it. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mominml
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
I was really scared that this was going to be too spicy for my kiddos, and it was for my 7 year-old son. But my two older daughters loved it, and said that I was just being wimpy. I do have slightly wimpy taste buds, and did think this was on the spicy side, but it had such terrific flavor, I couldn't stop eating it. This is so different from the usual mexican chicken that we are used to eating using taco seasoning. This recipe was quick, simple, and so good. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mominml

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Moses Lake, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
Very good, used 3 chipotles and it was perfect. We also chose to top our shells with coleslaw before topping with the chicken which was excellent although probably not authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Nampa, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole
Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2011
I followed the recipe and they were good but didn't have any WOW factor for me. Hubby strongly disagreed and talked about this recipe for a week. I think my taste has changed and I no longer care for the chipotle/adobe flavor but if you do like it then give these a try. Hubby would have given 10 stars if he could.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Soup Loving Nicole

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Living In: West Fork, Arkansas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2011
I made these for my family and it wasn't a hit at all...make sure that you and your family like the taste of adobo sauce (the sauce with chipotle peppers in the can) because it was extremely overwhelming and i didnt use much. I didnt like this recipe at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Genowa Dunlap

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rock_lobster
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2011
Mexican Tinga Haiku: "Terrific tinga. Simple, spicy flavor's great. Don't change a ThingA." I followed the recipe exactly, although I think I may have used 1/3 can of chipotles, knowing that otherwise, this would've had a bit too much of a punch for us. I thought that I'd serve it w/ a selection of toppings (grated cheese, shredded lettuce, chopped tomato, avocado and what-not), but truth be told, this was absolutely perfect served simply as written - w/ a plop of sour cream on top. Cannot wait to make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2011
This was really, really good. I used 3 chipotle peppers, which I removed the seeds from first, and put everything in my crock pot on low for about 4 hours. This was great with refried beans, cheese, and veggies over tostada shells, but I think the meat would also be delicious in tacos, burritos, southwestern eggrolls, or almost any Mexican/southwestern dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2011
adding shredded cabbage and letting it cook with the restof the ingredients tastes awesome
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 152) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States