Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2011
I needed to use up a nearly full can of chipotle peppers in adobo sauce so I added it all, warned my family it would have some heat (which it did) but they loved it. My husband took the leftovers, mixed them with some homemade southwestern ranch dressing and used it as a dip for tortilla chips. Will be making again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2011
My husband liked it, and he hates eating chicken. I used Mexican crema instead of sour cream and also garnished with avocado. That cut some of the heat. It was very spicy, but my husband is Mexican and doesn't like food unless it hurts! I used about 5 or 6 of the chipotle peppers. I also added a cinnamon stick (considering the other reviews) during the last 10 minutes of cooking. I would've added it sooner but was hesitant because I wasn't sure if my husband would like the cinnamon. I just didn't tell him it was in there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
delicious! especially with the cinnamon added and make sure to cook the chicken in a crock pot before hand. I may make a double recipe of the sauce next time too....because it gives you a ton of chicken and not so much sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2011
My mom makes this for us all the time, but somewhat different. She usually uses a whole chicken and boils it until done and reserves some of the broth. For a whole chicken, she'll use 2-3 medium/large onions and fresh tomatoes. We like it with a lot of red color so she'll dice up about 5 tomatoes or more depending on their size. When the chicken is almost done cooking, she'll sauté the tomatoes and onions in olive oil with a couple of bay leaves and oregano. After she’d shred the chicken, she’d put it in the same pot she cooked it in and added the sautéed onions and tomatoes and some chicken broth. She never measured how much broth, but she added just enough to cover about ¼ of the chicken. Then she added 2 chipotle peppers and some of its sauce and salt and allowed it to simmer and voila! Love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
Very good. Use one or two chipotles and a little adobo sauce. I used half of a whole boiled chicken I had left over. Definitely put refried beans on the tostadas. I accompanied this with a salad with a garlic, lemon & olive oil dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by unturnedstones
Home Town: Carthage, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
I made this for my family and was a bit disappointed in the bland flavor it had. i believe with some improving that it would taste a lot better, it has a lot of potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
really good. I only added 3 chipolte peppers and it was spicy enough. Very flavorful. Topped with fresh salsa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Eve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2011
This was very good! I didn't use the peppers (scared) but I did use the adobo sauce:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SF2009

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom
Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2011
This dish turned out great! I browned the chicken first, onions and garlic and added to the crockpot. You will have to add the chipotle peppers accordingly to your taste. I was afraid of making this dish too spice, so I only used 1 chipotle pepper and some of the adobo sauce, I’m glad I did it otherwise it would have been too spice for us. Once ready, I added some fresh cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fit&Healthy Mom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2011
Instead of canned tomatoes, I just boil 3-5 fresh tomatoes in the chicken stock for about 3-5 minutes (until the peels crack for easy removal). Then I puree with only 1/4 of the can of chipotle. Additional toppings: cotija cheese or fresh goat cheese, and shredded lettuce. Also, try smearing the sour cream on the tostada shell before topping it. Great recipe though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 149) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States