Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Nope. Won't be trying this recipe again. not one person of five in my family cared for it and we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2013
A friend gave me her tinga recipe years ago and is almost identical to Fredda's. It is now an oft-requested menu item around our home. If short on time, an already baked rotisserie chicken is super easy to shred. Our preference in preparing the chicken breasts is to poach them until almost done and then shred into the sauce mixture for a final simmer of flavors. Thankfully, we were advised early on about the power of chipotle peppers in the adobe sauce. After making tinga numerous times, we've slowly increased the chipotle pepper to sauce ratio. I tend to make more sauce than the recipe calls for my simply adding another can of stewed tomatoes. IF EVER TOO HOT - Add honey. I now keep my honey jar right at hand when making this treat. You have to taste test it, right? And if too hot, immediately dab honey on your tongue. Then add honey, little bit at a time, to the tinga mixture. Those mild mannered tongues in your family will thank you! Honey is a better treatment for "heat on the tongue" than milk or bread, in our opinion. Thank you for this recipe treat! Oh - if anyone in your family thinks they "hate" onions, try pureeing one and then cooking the pureed onion in a bit of olive oil with nutmeg (yes - nutmeg!). This will temper the oniony taste and, chances are, they'll never even notice that you've added it to the sauce mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marcola, Oregon, USA
Living In: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
We love, love, love this recipe for leftover chicken! This is easy and delicious. We like the heat, so it works for us. If you don't like it spicy, you might not want to use much adobo sauce,and don't use any of the peppers, before tasting it. Do what your diners like as far as heat goes. Great recipe! Thanks Fredda :) Got any more family favorites for us?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by vicki515

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Crescent City, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2013
I could look at this and read reviews and see where things could go wrong. I used about 1/2 Tbls of the chipotles and I am used to very spicy food and that was just the right amount. I also added a 1/4tsp of cinnamon as one reviewer stated and salt and pepper. I also hit it with 1/2 tbls of my own mexican seasoning which I think I used Emerils recipe on FN. After those changes, it was great! This made 6 tingas, not 16. 4oz of chicken per tinga and one ounce of sour cream per. The picture is not a good representation of the actual recipe either but it does give you the general idea and something to look at.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2013
So we made it again with fresh tomatoes and corn oil and it made a huge different just switching those two out. We also made the tostadas. Make your own chipotle peppers and it will be over the top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2013
Delish! Only change I made was to add fresh tomato to the chipotle mixture and when boiling the chicken I added onion and garlic to the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2013
Love this for leftover roast chicken. Cinnamon sticks added to the mix are a must. One or two chipotles in adobo are more than sufficient - a whole can would be too much for even the most hardy Mexican!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2013
I should have listened to other reviews when they indicated not to use so much Chipotle. NOt one of my favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sayala23

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Van Nuys, California, USA
Photo by AnthonyySilvio
Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2013
WOW! This meal was incredible. I did not stray from the recipe much, I just added a few adjustments. First off, I used 2 chipotles and 2-3 tablespoons of adobo sauce. I also used crushed tomatoes because the store was out of stewed. I had a "happy accident" of not cooking the chicken first before adding it to the sauce/chipotle mixture. After 30 minutes simmering in the sauce, I removed it to shred it and it just FELL APART!. To make sure it was well-flavored, I put it back in the sauce, added about a teaspoon of salt, and let it simmer again for another 10 minutes. Topped the Tostada with Mexican Crema, shredded chicken, shredded cheese, and cilantro. SO AMAZING. THANK YOU!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2013
I can attest to the authenticity of this recipe! I lived in Mexico City in the early 1990's and I was taught many recipes by my Mexican sister in law while there. Tinga was one of them. The only thing that I would add is that I was taught to make the tinga using equal amounts of onion and chicken (not by weight, but by volume). My sister in law was very specific about this...She said, "if you use a pile of chicken this big, you must use a pile of onions this big!" We always sauteed the onions in a small amount of butter until transparent then added the chicken and the tomato/chipotle mixture. Always served atop a tostada with a dollop of Mexican crema. My SIL was born and raised in Oaxaca - so perhaps her onion rule was a regional one. I've made this for my immediate and extended family on many occassions, and they all keep coming back for more. A huge hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda Thomason

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 157) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States