Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Easy and tasty! Change nothing. What didn't fit on the shells I put in a bowl with some corn, makes a great dip for Doritoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Like some others I mixed it up a bit we like spice but I took advice of "to taste" and started out with two chipoltes and some of the sauce, using the crockpot. Also used some Adobe seasoning, thin sliced sweet onion, minced fresh garlic and some green tomatillo verde,(which means green tomato) instead of the stewed tomatoes. Did use the rest of the recipe as written. We had them as hard and soft tacos, with fresh lettuce, tomato and crema- delicious. I've spent a lot of time in Mexico and have yet to meet a Tinga (chicken, pork, beef, ground beef) I didn't like. I know someone said cinnamon, but I've never tasted that in the Mexican regions I've had Tinga in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
No flavor, just HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I make this often pretty much the same way for people who like beef you can use a roast instead and also if its to spicy use the adobo sauce without the chipotle same taste not so spicy also put lettuce and cheese on top either queso fresco or Mexican Parmesan which is called cotijà
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
It was way to hot. We just took out the chipotle sauce and it was super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Chicken tinga is one of my favorites and this is a great recipe! I added a couple of garlic cloves and some sea salt which helped cut the acid from the tomato and the dish was superb. Aside from topping this on a tostada this is also a great filling for tacos and tamales. One of my favorite Mexican joints in LA rolls this up in a burrito and it's insane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
That's a lot of chipotle! I only added the adobo sauce and it was still too spicy. Next time I'm going to add a little bit at a time until it's just right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2013
Pretty good, family liked it. Husband approved.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sofianvrr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Woodland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
thank you so much, fredda. I have never heard of tinga, let alone tasted it. I read the recipe and decided it was something my family would love, and I was right. I did change it up a bit by cooking it in a croc pot, adding juice of a lime, abt 2t of cumin, and a small bunch of chopped cilantro. this was soooooooooooooooo delicious and easy, I can't thank you enough. used tostada shells, then placed a bit of shredded lettuce on the bottom, then some chopped roma tomatoes, the tinga, and topped with some Mexican crema, a spoonful of guacamole, a spoonful of salsa, and some chopped green onions. hot sauce available for those who wanted it. soooooo good. thank you so very much for sharing this family recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
Nope. Won't be trying this recipe again. not one person of five in my family cared for it and we like spicy food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Delightful Summer Parties
Delightful Summer Parties

All the little bites, cocktails, casual dishes, and desserts you want for your next get-together.

Banana Bread
Banana Bread

Bake those overripe bananas into a delicious, easy loaf of quick bread.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Healthy Mexican Chicken Bake

High-protein, low-calorie dish with Mexican-inspired flavors.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States