Mexican Tinga Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2014
I love tinga and make it all the time. I make it with fresh tomatoes and I use the chipotle adobo sauce instead of chipotle peppers
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2014
this was really good and really easy. Note to self though, do not use stewed toms that are in chiles and green peppers. WAYYY to spicy for me. We used this to make tortas and it was so delicious! Will be also using it for sandwiches and salads since it made a lot. Made with a guacamole salad and it was divine! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2014
Did not have as much flavor as I would have liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Searcy, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2014
Rating as a work in progress - as in I've already made the chicken and am simply waiting for hubby to come home for dinner. So simple! I don't know whether we're going to have it on tostados (DH has a toothache) or simply serve with Spanish rice or with tortilla chips - but either way, I simply love the chicken and the versatility of this dish. Thanks so much for recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Litegal1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Reviewed: May 26, 2014
I used fresh tomatoes and added fresco cheese. Bomb!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Easy and tasty! Change nothing. What didn't fit on the shells I put in a bowl with some corn, makes a great dip for Doritoes :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 18, 2014
Like some others I mixed it up a bit we like spice but I took advice of "to taste" and started out with two chipoltes and some of the sauce, using the crockpot. Also used some Adobe seasoning, thin sliced sweet onion, minced fresh garlic and some green tomatillo verde,(which means green tomato) instead of the stewed tomatoes. Did use the rest of the recipe as written. We had them as hard and soft tacos, with fresh lettuce, tomato and crema- delicious. I've spent a lot of time in Mexico and have yet to meet a Tinga (chicken, pork, beef, ground beef) I didn't like. I know someone said cinnamon, but I've never tasted that in the Mexican regions I've had Tinga in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MamacitaTee

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2014
No flavor, just HOT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
I make this often pretty much the same way for people who like beef you can use a roast instead and also if its to spicy use the adobo sauce without the chipotle same taste not so spicy also put lettuce and cheese on top either queso fresco or Mexican Parmesan which is called cotijà
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2013
Chicken tinga is one of my favorites and this is a great recipe! I added a couple of garlic cloves and some sea salt which helped cut the acid from the tomato and the dish was superb. Aside from topping this on a tostada this is also a great filling for tacos and tamales. One of my favorite Mexican joints in LA rolls this up in a burrito and it's insane!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BOSHEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Mexican Casserole

A cheesy, one-dish Mexican meal with black beans, corn, salsa, and chicken.

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States