Mexican Taco Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I played with this recipe a bit to help it to fit into one pie crust. I cut the milk back by almost half and I used about a half pound of seasoned taco meat instead of a full pound. I did use salsa verde and red bell pepper instead of green. Cutting those ingredients back, I had no issue with an overfull crust. I served this with oven roasted home fries. My husband and I thought this was okay, my two boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This makes a huge amount. More than will fit in a 9 inch deep dish pie crust. I used half the meat, half the cheese and still had way too much for the largest pie pan I had which is 11 inches across & l 1/2 inches deep. There was a lot of the egg/milk mixture left over. It makes a tasty quiche but halve the recipe & use a large pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I filled 2 nine inch deep dish pie crusts, and was worried that alot of it would go to waste, but it didn't. There was only a couple of pieces left, and we ate them the next day as leftovers. Awesome recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I agree with the other reviewer's this recipe makes too much filling. In order to only make one quiche I used the five eggs and them eye balled it for the rest of the ingredients. I only used about 1/2 a pound of hamburger meat and 3/4 cup of milk. My children and I enjoyed the end result, but my DH was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Photo by pamcooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was awesome. Instead of following the other reviewers' instructions, I decided to spread 2 pie crusts into my enchilada pan, and it was perfect for one big quiche. I also used a whole onion, because a half an onion is unheard of in my household :) My husband loved this so much, I am definitely gonna make it often. I am kind of an amateur cook, but am trying to do it more often, and this really boosted my cooking ego. My husband said he couldn't believe I made something that tasted this good. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This dish is so easy to make and super yummy! I agree with everyone who said it makes too much filling, so make 2 quiches or cut the recipe in half. I will be making this again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was so delicious! My kids loved it too and so easy to make. Instead of using pie crusts and to make it more gluten free, I tore up pieces of corn tortillas and placed on the bottom and up the sides. It does make a lot of filling so I put mine in a 9x13 and baked at 325 for 40 minutes. It didn't need a whole hour to bake. My kids kept coming downstairs asking what smelled so good and couldn't wait to eat. My guests loved it as well. it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Loved this! Hubby raved. I made it a dinner meal and didn't add eggs. I added cheese on top and baked it for 25 mins. Hummock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Photo by LauraBienz
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I found this recipe when looking for something to do with a pie crust and left-over taco meat. I sent it today with my husband to work and he and his co-workers devoured it. He said it was "a big hit". I followed other reviewers advise and scaled down the ingredients. I used 3 eggs, 1 cup milk, kept the green pepper the same at 1/2 c., used 1/4 large onion, about 1.5 c. cooked taco meat, 2 handfuls shredded cheddar (didn't have mex cheese blend on hand), and 1/2 tomato chopped (instead of salsa which I also did not have). I baked it in a deep 9" pie plate in my gas oven for 50 minutes. It sure looked pretty and smelled great coming out of the oven. If I wasn't trying to loose my extra holiday weight, I would have had a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
Make it G.F.! I took corn tortillas and cut-to-fit a 7 X 11 glass pan. Brush both sides of tortillas with evo or in my case I used bacon fat (yes, not low cal), but great flavor. Bake crust for 5-6 min. In medium mixing bowl briefly whip eggs & milk(I used 4 eggs and 1/4 c. milk). Into beaten egg mixture, I added the prepared taco meat, 5 oz's. bottled salsa with queso(heated slightly so it could be stirred into the mixture), we like things hot--so I added 2 T. fire-roasted tomatoes. Pour this into crust and top with 1/4 c. shredded extra-sharp cheddar cheese and place a sliver of jalapeno pepper above where each serving will be. Out of the oven offer chilled toppings of diced tomato, shreds of lettuce & sour cream if desired...Yum! I only baked it 14 min at 400.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Holiday Leftovers Quiche

Easily turn holiday dinner leftovers into a delicious quiche.

How to Make Quiche

Watch how to make this savory egg pie in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States