Mexican Taco Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2011
This makes a huge amount. More than will fit in a 9 inch deep dish pie crust. I used half the meat, half the cheese and still had way too much for the largest pie pan I had which is 11 inches across & l 1/2 inches deep. There was a lot of the egg/milk mixture left over. It makes a tasty quiche but halve the recipe & use a large pie dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 10, 2011
My family loved this recipe. I filled 2 nine inch deep dish pie crusts, and was worried that alot of it would go to waste, but it didn't. There was only a couple of pieces left, and we ate them the next day as leftovers. Awesome recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2011
I agree with the other reviewer's this recipe makes too much filling. In order to only make one quiche I used the five eggs and them eye balled it for the rest of the ingredients. I only used about 1/2 a pound of hamburger meat and 3/4 cup of milk. My children and I enjoyed the end result, but my DH was not impressed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mountainburg, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Pine Bluff, Arkansas, USA
Photo by LauraBienz
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2012
I found this recipe when looking for something to do with a pie crust and left-over taco meat. I sent it today with my husband to work and he and his co-workers devoured it. He said it was "a big hit". I followed other reviewers advise and scaled down the ingredients. I used 3 eggs, 1 cup milk, kept the green pepper the same at 1/2 c., used 1/4 large onion, about 1.5 c. cooked taco meat, 2 handfuls shredded cheddar (didn't have mex cheese blend on hand), and 1/2 tomato chopped (instead of salsa which I also did not have). I baked it in a deep 9" pie plate in my gas oven for 50 minutes. It sure looked pretty and smelled great coming out of the oven. If I wasn't trying to loose my extra holiday weight, I would have had a slice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This dish is so easy to make and super yummy! I agree with everyone who said it makes too much filling, so make 2 quiches or cut the recipe in half. I will be making this again real soon!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pamcooks
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
This was awesome. Instead of following the other reviewers' instructions, I decided to spread 2 pie crusts into my enchilada pan, and it was perfect for one big quiche. I also used a whole onion, because a half an onion is unheard of in my household :) My husband loved this so much, I am definitely gonna make it often. I am kind of an amateur cook, but am trying to do it more often, and this really boosted my cooking ego. My husband said he couldn't believe I made something that tasted this good. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
Loved this! Hubby raved. I made it a dinner meal and didn't add eggs. I added cheese on top and baked it for 25 mins. Hummock!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lafayette, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2012
This was so delicious! My kids loved it too and so easy to make. Instead of using pie crusts and to make it more gluten free, I tore up pieces of corn tortillas and placed on the bottom and up the sides. It does make a lot of filling so I put mine in a 9x13 and baked at 325 for 40 minutes. It didn't need a whole hour to bake. My kids kept coming downstairs asking what smelled so good and couldn't wait to eat. My guests loved it as well. it is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2012
I played with this recipe a bit to help it to fit into one pie crust. I cut the milk back by almost half and I used about a half pound of seasoned taco meat instead of a full pound. I did use salsa verde and red bell pepper instead of green. Cutting those ingredients back, I had no issue with an overfull crust. I served this with oven roasted home fries. My husband and I thought this was okay, my two boys loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2012
I used the handy change serving link and adjusted the recpie. I only had 1 pie crust and a lot of reviewers said there was way too mch filling. I cut the recipe in half to 4 servings and my crust was filled to the top. instead of using ground beef, I used 1 can of black beans and 1 can of pinto beans, added a packet of taco seasoning, a few tablespoons of water and heated it until the taco seasoning was mixed in. Turned out pretty good. My 6 year old loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Taco Soup II

A flavorful taco soup with ground beef, taco seasoning, beans, and green chiles.

Taco in a Bag

These tacos are so easy to make, and really fun to eat out of the bag.

How to Make Quiche Lorraine

See how to make a classic, custardy, egg and bacon brunch dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States