Mexican Sunset Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by LindaT
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
Tasty bread. I made by hand as I have no machine or heavy duty mixer. Next time I make this, I wanna try a cheese flavored taco mix yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
This was delicious, especially dipped in chicken tortilla soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kellieann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Manson, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2011
I followed the recipe exactly, except I substituted honey for the sugar. The bread had a very nice texture and unique taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZZANNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by evacooper
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
loved this! used cottage cheese instead of sour cream, and used homemade salsa and self-mixed taco seasoning from this site. the salsa was mild, did not contain hot peppers, and the taco stuff also wasn't made too hot, but the bread did have a zing to it! even though i had to make some of the ingredients myself it was totally worth it! will make this again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by evacooper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Amsterdam, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Photo by Jessica
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
It turned out ok, but probably half the size it should have been. I used mostly whole wheat flour and everything else the same, not a tremendous amount of flavor so if I did make it again, I would be sure to add more seasoning or salsa. Maybe even some diced jalepenos or cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Norwood, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I didn't have sour cream so substituted cottage cheese and it came out just beautiful. It would be so good with a chicken taco soup or bowl of chili for dinner. Glad I tried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2009
I don't have a bread machine but I DO have a Kitchen Aid mixer! I proofed the yeast in the mixer bowl with sugar and warm water for ten minutes, then added the sour cream and salsa, then added the dry ingredients. I did use homemade salsa, FF sour cream and Bill Echol's taco seasoning. This came together really well, I only needed a tbsp. of EVOO to pull the dough together to get it to jump on the hook. I kneaded it for five minutes or so with the bread hook, then set it to rise in a greased bowl for an hour. After that first hour, I formed it into a loaf and set it to rise again in a loaf pan for another half hour. I baked it at 350 for about 35 minutes, until the top was browned nicely and it sounded hollow when I thumped it. Smells insane. I paired it with Cha Cha's White Chicken Chili, which was a good choice. It's earned four stars so far, just on it's rockstar ability to be made by hand. I think it could use more of Bill Echols taco seasoning, but the subtlety of the spices called for was nice when paired with the white chili. The bread was perfect, texture-wise. I was afraid that I might have issues when I used the FF sour cream, but I really shouldn't have worried. I'll make this again. Great bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
I like this bread, but bf told me "it's not the best". Not sure exactly what he doesn't really like, but it is quite spicy from the taco seasoning. Bf isn't a fan of anything other than white bread, though--not an adventerous food guy. If you love spicy food, it might be perfect or just a bit underspicy for you. It was at about my limit of spiciness for me, but I did like it. If I make it again, might do less taco seasoning bc that's the predominant flavor. I like the color of the bread, though. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
I used 1 cup whole wheat flour in place of 1 cup bread flour, and honey in place of the sugar. Without a bread machine, I made this by hand. I divided the dough in 1/2, and shaped both pieces. I baked this at 350 for about 25 minutes. The kids want this often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States