Mexican-Style Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was so enjoyed by everyone last night Fiestaqueen! I added garlic and onion powders to the meat, due to allergies, left out the carrot and used pinto beans instead of the kidney. The real fun came in when I took large Burrito size tortillas and made taco salad bowls. I inverted two small metal mixing bowls and sprayed them with cooking spray. I then sprayed both sides of the tortillas and placed them on top of the bowls and kept smoothing the top and sides until they formed to the bowls. Popped them in a 355 degree oven until they were golden and crispy. They came out great and once cooled I piled in the salad, used H.V. Spicy Ranch Dressing and topped with shredded cheddar. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really great recipe. I used black beans instead and added some corn for an extra bit of flavor. I also added extra salsa, green onion, and a bit of lime juice squeezed over the finished product. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Quick and tasty! I used homemade taco seasoning which pretty much contains all the spices listed, and served with a dollop of sour cream. I did add just a bit of tomato sauce to the meat as it seemed a little dry. Having leftovers tonight - this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
We enjoyed this very much. I added crushed tortilla chips and avocado with a dollop of fatfree sour cream. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by casey_a_g
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
After doing a dinner search "healthy ground turkey" I came across this gem. My fiance LOVES Mexican style food so i figured why not. I ran out of chili powder so I used homemade taco seasoning (see Walt's taco seasoning) instead of the recommended spices. I also add a small can of green chilis. I used Romaine lettuce and omitted the carrots and bell pepper (because that's what I had in the house). Finished the plate off with some cold salsa on top and sprinkled with green onions. It was excellent! I will most definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by miriam1983

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Charlotte, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2009
Very good! I made as is except used a can of chili beans instead of plain kidney beans. Topped our salads with tomatoes, olives, yellow peppers, and green onions, then served at the table with extra salsa and sour cream. I will definitely be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Muffinmom

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Syracuse, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I always made taco salad without a recipe, but one day I started having trouble with the taco sesoning making it too salty. Once I put enough into my meat to taste it was way too salty. I searched allrecipes and found this recipe. I used sausage instead of turkey and also used black beans. The spices are key. There is lots of flavor without the extra salt. You can add whatever veggies you please. I always sprinkle w/ Doritos just b4 serving. The best I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love making this...and eating it. I made it for a party this weekend and everyone thought it was great. More so, they couldn't tell that it was turkey instead of beef because of the seasoning. This is one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
SUPER FAST! delish dish! I doubled the seasonings, olive oil, substituted the salsa with a can of rotel. It turned out wonderful! wrapped it all in a warm flour tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is great for a quick weeknight dinner. I halved the chili powder for my daughter, but she ended up not liking it anyway, so next time I'll just use the full amount. I used corn instead of beans and subbed roasted green chiles in place of the salsa. Served with sour cream and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States