Mexican-Style Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 15, 2008
This recipe is simple to make and smells great, the color content is very high, making it very appealing to the eye. I cut the chili powder to 1 tbsp and substituted Paprika for the 2nd tbsp. I omitted the cumin by 1/8th tsp. and added diced tomatoes and italian salad dressing as a substitute for the salsa. I didn' use the chili anything because I've a daughter that cannot abide chili at all. Very good recipe and my finicky eaters LOVED it!!!! Will Definitely be making again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WHISKEYCAT

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2008
I liked this recipe. I used black beans instead of kidney, and used my own home-made salsa. Next time I would add some more heat, and serve with some light sour cream dolloped on top as well. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Great recipe & so easy to make! I followed recipe exactly except left out the carrots & bell peppers because I was all out. My boyfriend topped it with ranch & dill dressing for a creamier taste...will be making this again. Thanks for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Inglewood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My family loved this! My husband doesn't eat onions or green peppers so I left those out. Also, I used double the amount of salsa, topped it with sour cream, and served tortilla chips on the side. It's simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We have had this twice, now, and love it. Only change - used more salsa for a moister result, left out the green peppers (neither of us likes them). Otherwise, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really great recipe. I used black beans instead and added some corn for an extra bit of flavor. I also added extra salsa, green onion, and a bit of lime juice squeezed over the finished product. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I always made taco salad without a recipe, but one day I started having trouble with the taco sesoning making it too salty. Once I put enough into my meat to taste it was way too salty. I searched allrecipes and found this recipe. I used sausage instead of turkey and also used black beans. The spices are key. There is lots of flavor without the extra salt. You can add whatever veggies you please. I always sprinkle w/ Doritos just b4 serving. The best I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I didn't have all the ingredients; but this is a recipe, you are able to customize with what you do have. Even my non salad eating son ate this. Used tortilla chips crushed with everything on top. Was great and will be one of the mainstays in our monthly cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used 1 can of chili beans with 1 tsp. oregano and a pinch of cayenne, instead of the kidney beans and spices. All the rest was the same as written. It was very tasty! Also good the next day as chili with cheese and corn chips! Will use this a a regular addition to our weekly menus. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good basic recipe! I made changes due to what I had on hand and the fact I was not in the mood to cut up so many things. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles and added a small can of green chiles - did not drain. Omitted the pepper, and carrots. Used fava beans instead of kidney beans. Omitted the salsa. Added ancho chili powder(with regular chili powder), parsley, garlic, a pinch of salt, dried chives and dried onion to the meat mixture. Plating: corn tortilla chips, lettuce, the meat mixture and then added Mexican cheese, a bit of taco sauce, sour cream and sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States