Mexican-Style Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
SUPER FAST! delish dish! I doubled the seasonings, olive oil, substituted the salsa with a can of rotel. It turned out wonderful! wrapped it all in a warm flour tortilla!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lubbock, Texas, USA
Living In: Round Rock, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I always made taco salad without a recipe, but one day I started having trouble with the taco sesoning making it too salty. Once I put enough into my meat to taste it was way too salty. I searched allrecipes and found this recipe. I used sausage instead of turkey and also used black beans. The spices are key. There is lots of flavor without the extra salt. You can add whatever veggies you please. I always sprinkle w/ Doritos just b4 serving. The best I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
Quick and tasty! I used homemade taco seasoning which pretty much contains all the spices listed, and served with a dollop of sour cream. I did add just a bit of tomato sauce to the meat as it seemed a little dry. Having leftovers tonight - this will be a regular for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used 1 can of chili beans with 1 tsp. oregano and a pinch of cayenne, instead of the kidney beans and spices. All the rest was the same as written. It was very tasty! Also good the next day as chili with cheese and corn chips! Will use this a a regular addition to our weekly menus. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I didn't have all the ingredients; but this is a recipe, you are able to customize with what you do have. Even my non salad eating son ate this. Used tortilla chips crushed with everything on top. Was great and will be one of the mainstays in our monthly cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We have had this twice, now, and love it. Only change - used more salsa for a moister result, left out the green peppers (neither of us likes them). Otherwise, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This is great for a quick weeknight dinner. I halved the chili powder for my daughter, but she ended up not liking it anyway, so next time I'll just use the full amount. I used corn instead of beans and subbed roasted green chiles in place of the salsa. Served with sour cream and taco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2008
My family loved this! My husband doesn't eat onions or green peppers so I left those out. Also, I used double the amount of salsa, topped it with sour cream, and served tortilla chips on the side. It's simple and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
This is great!! Even my picky eaters loved it. Very nutritious. Perfect meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Love making this...and eating it. I made it for a party this weekend and everyone thought it was great. More so, they couldn't tell that it was turkey instead of beef because of the seasoning. This is one of my favorite dishes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States