Mexican-Style Taco Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2009
This was so enjoyed by everyone last night Fiestaqueen! I added garlic and onion powders to the meat, due to allergies, left out the carrot and used pinto beans instead of the kidney. The real fun came in when I took large Burrito size tortillas and made taco salad bowls. I inverted two small metal mixing bowls and sprayed them with cooking spray. I then sprayed both sides of the tortillas and placed them on top of the bowls and kept smoothing the top and sides until they formed to the bowls. Popped them in a 355 degree oven until they were golden and crispy. They came out great and once cooled I piled in the salad, used H.V. Spicy Ranch Dressing and topped with shredded cheddar. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2009
I would give this a 4.5 if I could. It was delicious. I love the use of actual spices instead of the all too common taco seasoning packet. I followed the recipe exactly except for leaving out the carrots. The only thing I will change next time is to use black beans instead of kidney,. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2009
Recipe was pretty good. I used a mixture of greens and didn't have carrots so I left them out. My husband really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2009
Good flavors overall. Since iceberg lettuce has minimal nutritional value, I used mixed baby greens instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
Good basic recipe! I made changes due to what I had on hand and the fact I was not in the mood to cut up so many things. I used a can of Rotel tomatoes with green chiles and added a small can of green chiles - did not drain. Omitted the pepper, and carrots. Used fava beans instead of kidney beans. Omitted the salsa. Added ancho chili powder(with regular chili powder), parsley, garlic, a pinch of salt, dried chives and dried onion to the meat mixture. Plating: corn tortilla chips, lettuce, the meat mixture and then added Mexican cheese, a bit of taco sauce, sour cream and sliced black olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CFUCHSLAO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Saint Louis, Missouri, USA
Living In: Hato Rey, San Juan, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
I used 1 can of chili beans with 1 tsp. oregano and a pinch of cayenne, instead of the kidney beans and spices. All the rest was the same as written. It was very tasty! Also good the next day as chili with cheese and corn chips! Will use this a a regular addition to our weekly menus. Good recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corvallis, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
I didn't have all the ingredients; but this is a recipe, you are able to customize with what you do have. Even my non salad eating son ate this. Used tortilla chips crushed with everything on top. Was great and will be one of the mainstays in our monthly cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
I always made taco salad without a recipe, but one day I started having trouble with the taco sesoning making it too salty. Once I put enough into my meat to taste it was way too salty. I searched allrecipes and found this recipe. I used sausage instead of turkey and also used black beans. The spices are key. There is lots of flavor without the extra salt. You can add whatever veggies you please. I always sprinkle w/ Doritos just b4 serving. The best I ever made!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mama mia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2008
Really great recipe. I used black beans instead and added some corn for an extra bit of flavor. I also added extra salsa, green onion, and a bit of lime juice squeezed over the finished product. Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
We have had this twice, now, and love it. Only change - used more salsa for a moister result, left out the green peppers (neither of us likes them). Otherwise, great dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Taco Salad I

See how to make a delicious taco salad with a twist.

How to Make Turkey Waldorf Salad

Use leftover turkey to make this classic salad with a creamy yogurt dressing.

Romano Bean Salad

See how to make a simple summer bean salad with garlic and mint dressing.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States