Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
My husband and I really enjoyed this. After reading other reviews we used beer in place of water, added cumin, and a couple chipotles in adobo. Served on corn tortillas with guac and fresh chopped onions, tomatoes, and cilantro with a spalsh of lime juice. We didn't love the rice, too much lime - may try again though...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
Excellent. Also good as taco filling. My kids love this. And it makes the whole house smell good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
To die for! I followed the recipe almost exactly but I had SUPER hot chipotle sauce so I decided to add 1/2 chipotle and 1/2 adobe sauce (both I had in the refridgerator, am I from Texas or what!). I also cooked the rice in the rice cooker with the added ingredients and it worked great, my kids were begging me to make more! Leftovers made great tacos as well. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was delicious. I did customize it a little. I cooked it in the crock pot for 7 hours and moved it to a pot with the juices over night. The next day I put it on a simmer for 4 hours. I served it with yellow rice and cole slaw on tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clay City, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
GOOD STUFF, this was excellent. However, I did take some suggestions from some previous reviews. I used an entire beer, a half of an onion, cuman, lime juice, an extra can of peppers, and chilli powder. Now I could not find chipotle sauce, so I took the canned with adoba and made my own using the entire can. I was afraid it was going to be to hot but it was Great, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great versatile recipe! Just the right amount of mild chili hotness. We have had this over rice as suggested but found it even better in a tortilla on a Mexican Torta sandwich and on nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My husband and kids loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
OK, I'm clearly in the minority here. I'm a texan (yes, small t) and have eaten a rich variety of both Tex-Mex and Mex-Mex food, over several decades as a dedicated foodie. I find this recipe lacking. The pork, surprisingly, is very dry in texture. The dominant flavor in the liquid is the piquant taste of hatch pepper. FYI, the canned hatch peppers I used were "mild" as opposed to "hot," so it didn't dominate on the basis of heat. Chipotle salsa? The store where I shop had 3 of them, and I chose the one in which the chipotle content was by far the highest, judging on the basis of its order in the ingredient list. Still, when the cook was over, the flavor was hatch, with scarcely any chipotle, and the texture of the meat, although cooked to the point where it pulled apart quite easily, was D R Y. A version of pulled pork that approximates the East Carolina vinegar-based BBQ experience is achievable in a slow cooker, but based on this attempt, Mexican-style pulled pork is not. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I added cumin as other suggested, and also extra chipotle sauce because it was lacking flavor. The meat just fell apart when I took it out to shred it. Did not make the rice but stuffed enchiladas with the meat, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The meat was very tender and delicious! I recommend to keep in the crock pot for the full 7 hrs for true tenderness. Tasted meat after 4 hrs and then 7 hrs...the best after 7 hrs on low. Rice was awesome and could use with other Mexican dishes. Great + EASY recipe...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States