Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2011
I made this a week ago and am still enjoying the different ways I can use the meat for meals! I did not have chili peppers or chilpotle sauce so I just used about a half a jar of chopped jalapenos and a can of diced tomatoes. I covered the meat with a Corona beer and it is fabulous! I have defrosted it in a pot with some butter, olive oil, brown rice and seasonings and it is a fabulous chunky soup with lots of good flavor. I will most definetly be making this again, next time I will add the rice right to the crock while the meat cooks to make it an even faster meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
I found some boneless pork ribs for super cheap (only $1.29/lb) and used about 3.5 lbs cut into roughly 2 inch pieces. Like just about everyone else, I used canned chipoltis (about 5 oz) with a splash of water to get a nice sauce and fire roasted green chiles. I used about twice as much of the chipolti sauce and we're divided if it is spicy or wicked spicy. Very good and easy to modify if you're feeding kids or people who don't like spicy. Will try the method again when we want a different mexican style chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2011
easy-delish. added onion and garlic powder to roast and jalapenos to the rice. yum! served on yellow corn tortillas with a summer salad. do it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2011
Loved this! I read the reviews and added lime juice and cilantro to the slow cooker as well as chipoltle Mrs. Dash. The flavor was great! I loved it as a salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I discovered this recipe last week and I have made it twice since last week. For two people. That's a lot of pork per person. SO GOOD. I do a couple of little personal twists to this recipe. I have to buy the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and then use the food processor on them, because I cannot find the "chipotle sauce". S'OK, I love that flavor any old how. When the pork is done cooking, I strain the fatty sauce goodness that accumulated in the slow cooker. I add lime juice to it, and then I pour about half of my newly made sauce over the pork. It absolutely does taste better the next day. If you have the will power to do so, shred it, leave it alone, then re-visit it tomorrow. When tomorrow comes, take it out of the fridge and fry it up in butter to get that carnitas-y crispy goodness. I love this stuff. I posted three pictures of it on here already, ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Super yummy! I didn't make it with the rice. Used a mexican beer instead of water. Home felt like a lil taqueria for a night. Even better the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! I recently lost my job and had to cut back on our grocery budget, which meant I needed to find more creative things to do with pork! This recipe is a favorite in my house, and can easily cost less than $10 for the entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Thought this was pretty good, but did end up making some changes because it was too mild for our liking. I also could not find the chipotle sauce, so I used enchilada sauce and added some pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (as many other reviewers did). My main issue with this recipe is that after cooking for 7 hours on low, mine was VERY watery and bland. I ended up adding 3 more tbsp of the chipotle puree plus at least ~2 tsp of cumin. Then I cooked it on low for an additional 3 hours with the lid off. This resulted in some pretty tasty pork. We served it as make your own burritos and the leftovers as quesadillas. I think I will further experiment w/this recipe, perhaps trying beer instead of water and bumping up the spices even more. Thought it was good, just needs a bit more flavor for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Stephen likes it - extra spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States