Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2015
I changed the recipe a little because of what I had on hand and it turned out amazing!! I used 1 butterflied porkchop, salt, 1 can green chilies, 1 can rotel, garlic, full 7oz can chipotle sauce and 1/4 cup lime in the crock pot on low for 6 hours, shredded chops and then continued to cook on low for 30 minutes while cooking the rice as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2015
This is one of my family's favorite dinners. It's so easy to make and so flavorful. It's very versatile too, you can pretty much add any combination of spices that appeals to your specific tastes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2015
My friend from Mexico said this recipe was really close to what she was used to. To really finish it off in carnitas style, you would take the shredded pork & spread it out on a cookie sheet w/ a little of the liquid & put it in the oven until the tips get crispy. (seriously concentrated MEAT FLAVOR!) Also can be deep fried, but I couldn't bring myself to do that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Jackson, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2015
This is the BEST recipe for carnitas. Very consist results. I do like to defat the shoulder before cooking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
Added a chopped onion, 1 c of the chipotle sauce and no water while cooking-DELISH!! Served with rice and black beans (rinsed/drained), salsa verde (Goya's-green salsa), chopped tomatoes, shredded cheese, sour cream and tortilla chips for scooping. Oh Yeah!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon Thomas

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2014
The cook on the pork was perfect. Was not dry and shredded like a dream. Served with Pico de Gallo with Cabbage (Mexican Coleslaw) from this site with sour cream and avocado. Yum. Thanks for sharing TORA.V.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Volleyballmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Thought this was a great starter recipe but needed some tweaking to make it good. The addition of a drained can of rotel, about two tablespoons cumin, and extra cilantro mixed in with the meat improved the blandness. I also added more chipotle spice to give it more smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made recipe as written. I am sensitive to spicy foods and was concerned this might be great for my family but not me. I was pleasantly surprised with the depth of flavor and tolerable spiciness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was very tasty! It was similar to a barbacoa rice bowl. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. It's ridiculously easy and a great way to make a meal last a long time. I served the pork with a mexican cheese on the top after having it without the cheese. We prefer it with the cheese. It makes the other flavors come out more. This is in regular rotation in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn
Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 367) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States