Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 1, 2007
**** CHIPOTLE SAUCE ****** - Look in your grocer section where the taco sauces are. I found an 8oz. bottle of Chipotle Sauce there made by Ortega. Same bottle style and look as taco sauce but labled as Chipotle Sauce. I cooked the meat with the stated 1/4c. of Chipotle Sauce. I also added a generous sprinkling of Mrs. Dash Southwest Chipotle seasoning. This stuff is great, pure flavor because it is not salt based. Once the meat was done, I put the gravy in the frig so the fat/grease would rise to the top and congeal...then removed the fat/grease. Poured the defatted gravy over the shredded meat and added the remainder of the 8 oz. bottle of Chipotle Sauce and a sprinkling more of the Mrs. Dash S-West Chiptotle seasoning. The end result tasted just like Chipotle's shredded meat - fantastic ! It had tons of flavor contrary to the complaints of other reviewers. I also salted the rice after it was done cooking. Additional suggestions for serving this: serve with black beans and corn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
335 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
This recipe was awesome! I chopped up 1 small onion and minced a couple of cloves of garlic and added it to the crock pot. Also, instead of the water, I used a bottle of Corona beer and squeezed 1/4 of a lime on top of the pork in the crock pot. I simmered the meat for about 4 hours on low. I served the meat with tacos, it came out AMAZING! I will be using this recipe again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
182 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ali

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2008
Made this recipe for my Cinco de Mayo party. It was a huge hit with everyone,even my siste-in-law who is Mexican - she suggested that I add a little cumin after I shredded the pork and put it back in the crock pot, which I did (approx. 1 1/2 tsp) It added more taste. This recipe is extremely easy and delicous. A keeper for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
143 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orland Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Caroline C
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2006
Very rarely - if ever - do I find myself wishing I could rate something more than 5 stars. This, however, is it!! I didn't bother with the rice, but instead added the lime juice (1 lime) and cilantro in with the chipotle sauce (I found it in the Mexican section at Meijer). I marinaded it over night, then cooked for 6 hrs on low. I added a little more chipotle sauce for a little more flavor. We had it with warm flour tortillas, guacamole, grated Cheddar, and plain white rice. Absolutely AWESOME! I would not hesitate in making this again. Thanks, Tora. V!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2008
Answering British contributor nelepope's questions, cilantro is the Spanish name for fresh coriander leaves. It's found in the produce sections of most U.S. supermarkets. Google "Mexican grocery UK" and you will find websites that sell chipotle sauce, or you can look up a Chipotle Sauce recipe right here on allrecipes.com. Chipotle is a smoke-dried jalapeno pepper - look up wikipedia.com for excellent photos and descriptions. The smokiness adds an awesome flavor dimension! For both the cilantro and sauce, I would start with half the recipe amount and add more until you find the flavor profile you like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2008
Both the amazing taste (surprising considering it comes from so few ingredients) and the ease of the recipe earns it a five star rating from me. To give it more flavor since the people in my family like spice: double the chipolte sauce and add another can of chilies. Also: add some lime juice in with the rest of the ingredients. And if you do not want to mess with the rice: throw chopped cilantro (the more the better I think) into the pork when you shred it, then let it sit the fifteen minutes or longer afterwards. I think this recipe cannot sit in the slow cooker too long, so do not worry about that. Thanks for the fabulous addition to my recipe box! Actually making it for dinner again tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This was really good after I followed the recipe as it was written. I tried to make it without the Chipolte Sauce and found it was tasteless. (Made a special trip to the store and added it in at the end of the cooking time - is this why so many neg reviews? No Chipoltle sauce?). I also added the Cilantro and lime juice after the rice was cooked. Served the pork on top of the rice and layered homemade salsa, guac, cheese and sour cream on top. Put the bottle of Chipoltle sauce on the table for those who like it a little hotter. Definately *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
This was DELICIOUS! It was a big hit in my apartment. Based on some of the other reviews and my personal taste, I added: 1 tsp. cumin, 1 tsp. southwest seasoning, 1 extra can green chiles, and an entire cup of chipotle sauce. It still wasn't too spicy for some of my friends who are sensitive to that - so if I had it to do over again, I would probably throw in some jalapenos to make it spicier! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tieki rae

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Very, very good! This is a keeper! I stuck to the recipe as much as possible. I only had 1/2 of the pork needed, but used the same amount of other ingredients and it turned out great! Served it over the rice along with fried flour tortilla strips. While it was cooking, I thought it might be a little too spicy for my 4 year old, but after trying it, she loved it. My husband ate way too much! It is in my recipe box! Thanks for a good one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
YUM!!! I stuck to the recipe best as I know how ;) I only used 1.5 LB of pork and squeeze a bit of lime in at the end of the cooking. I found Chipotle Sauce by La Preferedia for $1.69 in a glass bottle, so I'm able to save it instead of wasting an entire can of chipotle peppers. I only used 1 TB of the sauce (feeding it to a 2 yr old). Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie Jean

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 359) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States