Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
This was great! Very easy. My 10-, 15-, and 18-year old kids all liked it, too! I doubled the recipe for my family of 5. Made quite a bit. Enjoying the leftovers. I fixed it just like the recipe said. Love the chipotle sauce - mmmmgood. I found the chipotle sauce in the Mexican foods area of my local grocer. Since I'm an onion lover, I put chopped onions on top when serving it - great! Didn't have the quacamole, but would like to try it next time. I can imagine this filling in an enchilada, tamale, burrito. We've also made some quesadillas with the filling - quick snack or meal. At first I thought this might be too hot for my kids, but it wasn't. I love HOT/spicy stuff so I bought a fresh jalepeno to chop up to sprinkle on top. mmmmm. You ought to try this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
I couldn't find chipotle sauce and ended up using chipotle salsa instead. I increased it to 1/2 cup but it did not turn out very spicey. Will spice up the meat more the next time. The meat was tender but I had to increase the cooking time to at least 8 1/2 hours on low. It did not yield enough sauce for my taste so for left overs I will add a can of spicy enchilada sauce. My husband did not like the rice with the lime juice I did not mind it so much but I will serve it with spanish rice the next time. Overall it was good but not nearly spicy enough for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2004
This was tasting somewhat bland, so I doctored it up with a little vinegar, brown sugar, and chili sauce. Also, I couldn't find chipotle sauce, so I used my hot sauce from the pantry, instead. Turned out pretty good. The lime juice in the rice gave it a uniqueness, which I believe I'll incorporate in other rice dishes. Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2004
Disappointing. I loved using the slow cooker and loved the fact that it was almost "fat free", but it was bland and the pork was chewy. I would give it two stars, but my husband liked it a bit better. It is expensive to make, so I want to love it. We did add some taco seasoning when we re-heated. Will probably try to use some as enchilada filling. I wonder if meat this lean just doesn't work well in the slow cooker?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2004
The meat was bland. It was also dry despite allowing it to absorb the liquid after shredding it. Due to the expense of the pork loin I can't recommend this recipe - it just wasn't worth it. I'm disappointed because it sounded good plus I like using my crockpot but this recipe didn't measure up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2004
This was really good after I followed the recipe as it was written. I tried to make it without the Chipolte Sauce and found it was tasteless. (Made a special trip to the store and added it in at the end of the cooking time - is this why so many neg reviews? No Chipoltle sauce?). I also added the Cilantro and lime juice after the rice was cooked. Served the pork on top of the rice and layered homemade salsa, guac, cheese and sour cream on top. Put the bottle of Chipoltle sauce on the table for those who like it a little hotter. Definately *****
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2004
Amazing! I will definitely be making this often...easy & tasty. I also could not find chipotle sauce so I used Lawry's "Baja Chipotle w/ lime" marinade. We served the pork over rice and made soft tacos w/ it. Awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2004
I made this for a mexican themed party we had, it was delicious, and really like what I had in a restaurant. My guests who dont care for "hot", and those who do liked it equally.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rocky Point, New York, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2004
I added a little chopped onion to this. When it was cooked and the pork shredded I placed all in a saucepan, added more water and a little cornstarch to thicken. I serve this over bean/beef burritos with shredded lettuce, Mexican 4 cheese, black olives and chopped tomatoes. My husband says this is the best burrito sauce ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2004
EXCELLENT! The best thing to come out of my crock pot yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States