Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
GOOD STUFF, this was excellent. However, I did take some suggestions from some previous reviews. I used an entire beer, a half of an onion, cuman, lime juice, an extra can of peppers, and chilli powder. Now I could not find chipotle sauce, so I took the canned with adoba and made my own using the entire can. I was afraid it was going to be to hot but it was Great, I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki G.
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2012
Great versatile recipe! Just the right amount of mild chili hotness. We have had this over rice as suggested but found it even better in a tortilla on a Mexican Torta sandwich and on nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
My husband and kids loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Rosenthal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2012
OK, I'm clearly in the minority here. I'm a texan (yes, small t) and have eaten a rich variety of both Tex-Mex and Mex-Mex food, over several decades as a dedicated foodie. I find this recipe lacking. The pork, surprisingly, is very dry in texture. The dominant flavor in the liquid is the piquant taste of hatch pepper. FYI, the canned hatch peppers I used were "mild" as opposed to "hot," so it didn't dominate on the basis of heat. Chipotle salsa? The store where I shop had 3 of them, and I chose the one in which the chipotle content was by far the highest, judging on the basis of its order in the ingredient list. Still, when the cook was over, the flavor was hatch, with scarcely any chipotle, and the texture of the meat, although cooked to the point where it pulled apart quite easily, was D R Y. A version of pulled pork that approximates the East Carolina vinegar-based BBQ experience is achievable in a slow cooker, but based on this attempt, Mexican-style pulled pork is not. Just saying.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I added cumin as other suggested, and also extra chipotle sauce because it was lacking flavor. The meat just fell apart when I took it out to shred it. Did not make the rice but stuffed enchiladas with the meat, it was delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Mishawaka, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2011
The meat was very tender and delicious! I recommend to keep in the crock pot for the full 7 hrs for true tenderness. Tasted meat after 4 hrs and then 7 hrs...the best after 7 hrs on low. Rice was awesome and could use with other Mexican dishes. Great + EASY recipe...will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: La Grange, Illinois, USA
Living In: Steamboat Springs, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
This was delish. I used it to make soft tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
I wanted to love this, but like others was disappointed with the lack of flavor. Added more chipolte sauce and that helped(used Cholula brand chipolte sauce). Not worth the money I spent on the pork loin to make again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
Was super easy and yummy! I made it even easier and used Minute rice instead of the long grain and it worked great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hallie Estle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
First time I have made mexican food by myself. I will be making this again soon. I get off of work very late and did not have 7 hours to wait, so this is what I did... First I brouned the pork pieces on all sides, in a pot, on the stove. I added all the ingredients as listed (except, used chicken stock instead of water.) Brought to a boil for maybe 10min, covered and continued cooking on medium. Preheated the oven to 350 degrees. Once preheated everything was put in a oven safe dish with a lid and put in the oven for appox 2 1/2 hours. Continue checking so meat doesnt become dry. This worked out excellent for me. My friend is begging me to make this for his birthday. This recipe is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States