Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Well shucks, I was let down by this one. The reviews are so positive that I was sure I had a winner for busy day easy pork tacos. It was easy and it smelled wonderful but the flavor was not quite like I expected. It seemed like a confused chili verde sauce to me. The pork was also mushier than I cared for. I will go back to beef in the crock pot for shredded meat tacos and continue to smoke and pull our pork when we want the chipotle/bbq style tacos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mommy3xyz

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2010
SO good and SO easy!! I just finished eating this a few minutes ago and had to rate it right away!! I love that it basically cooks itself. This is definitely restaurant quality and I will be making it all the time. I wish I could give it more than 5 stars! I did use only one can of chilies instead of two. And the chipotle sauce I found was called "Chipotle Salsa" but it was definitely more of a sauce so I figured it would work. I used the whole can instead of just 1/4 cup. It was a 7 oz can. Other than those two minor changes, I followed this recipe just as written and it turned out amazing. We served it over plain white rice and had sour cream, guacamole and the "Confetti Coleslaw" from this site on the side. I ended up putting the coleslaw right on top of the pork. Yum!! This meat is so moist and delicious. It falls apart as you are shredding it. If you like mexican food even just a little, you must try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I just made this for father's day. Everyone LOVED it! We used tortillas instead of the rice, though I can see how the rice would be good too. I could not find the sauce anywhere so I made some from a recipe on this site and it was sooo good!I added a little more of the chipotle sauce b/c we like things spicy. Even before the added sauce it was a bit soupy- maybe because I doubled the recipe? regardless I'll definately make this again. Even my 3 kids ages 5, 3 and 2 ate them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This is the bomb I added some chipotle sauce it was freakin awesome make it it eat it love it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sk8erdie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2010
Wonderful dish. Reminded me of the carne asada at a Mexican chain restaurant. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sapporo, Hokkaido, Japan
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
I used the directions/ingredients to make the shredded pork for use in the Baked Chimichangas recipe. Pork was delicious! I used the leftover shredded pork by serving over sauteed polenta. This is a great "go to" recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Plano, Texas, USA
Living In: Vicksburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Very very good and pretty darn easy to make. My wife and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
This recipe is not as juicy as BBQ pulled pork, but I did like the taste. I did not have canned chile peppers, but cut up a bunch of chile peppers. Between those and the chipotle sauce, it gave the pork a nice spicy kick!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by drieya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brampton, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Maybe I did something wrong but I got a 3lbs of meat and it cooked when I was at work for seven hours and that was way to long I got a mushy mess. I also found it to be a little bland but I could only find chipotle marinade and maybe it is different than chipotle sauce. Probably would have tasted better after 5 hours not 7.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
This is VERY Good! The flavor on this is just so good, my family loves it. Followed the directions exactly and didn't need to change anything.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 141-150 (of 363) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States