Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2011
I discovered this recipe last week and I have made it twice since last week. For two people. That's a lot of pork per person. SO GOOD. I do a couple of little personal twists to this recipe. I have to buy the chipotle peppers in adobo sauce and then use the food processor on them, because I cannot find the "chipotle sauce". S'OK, I love that flavor any old how. When the pork is done cooking, I strain the fatty sauce goodness that accumulated in the slow cooker. I add lime juice to it, and then I pour about half of my newly made sauce over the pork. It absolutely does taste better the next day. If you have the will power to do so, shred it, leave it alone, then re-visit it tomorrow. When tomorrow comes, take it out of the fridge and fry it up in butter to get that carnitas-y crispy goodness. I love this stuff. I posted three pictures of it on here already, ha!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Super yummy! I didn't make it with the rice. Used a mexican beer instead of water. Home felt like a lil taqueria for a night. Even better the next day..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe! I recently lost my job and had to cut back on our grocery budget, which meant I needed to find more creative things to do with pork! This recipe is a favorite in my house, and can easily cost less than $10 for the entire meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2011
Thought this was pretty good, but did end up making some changes because it was too mild for our liking. I also could not find the chipotle sauce, so I used enchilada sauce and added some pureed chipotle peppers in adobo sauce (as many other reviewers did). My main issue with this recipe is that after cooking for 7 hours on low, mine was VERY watery and bland. I ended up adding 3 more tbsp of the chipotle puree plus at least ~2 tsp of cumin. Then I cooked it on low for an additional 3 hours with the lid off. This resulted in some pretty tasty pork. We served it as make your own burritos and the leftovers as quesadillas. I think I will further experiment w/this recipe, perhaps trying beer instead of water and bumping up the spices even more. Thought it was good, just needs a bit more flavor for our taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
Stephen likes it - extra spicy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2011
delish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
Only change we made was to add about a 1/2 cup of green taco sauce to the crockpot - giving it a little more liquid and a little more flavor. Next time will quick up the spice factor with a hot habanero sauce. Served over a Spanish rice, topped with guacamole, sour cream, and shredded fiesta cheese. Scooped up with tortilla chips - YUMMY! Will definitely go into our dinner rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by scrapper9494

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Edgewater, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2011
This was just okay, probably wouldn't make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JURADO

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilmington, California, USA
Living In: Bellflower, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I wouldn't call this "amazing," but with some changes, it was good enough to make again. Normally, I don't cook pork tenderloin in the crockpot, but due to oven problems and a defrosted, 2lb tenderloin in my fridge, I decided to try this recipe. I dusted the tenderloin with salt and cumin and set it on top of a sliced onion and green bell pepper in the crockpot. I added chopped garlic on top of the tenderloin, along with chipotle salsa, lime juice, and a little water. I shredded the meat after 4 hours on low and added it back to the sauce. I served it with white rice, black beans and more salsa. Wish I'd had cilantro on hand to top it off with. It's hard to get a moist tenderloin in the crockpot, but this one turned out pretty well, and we liked the meal. The leftovers are also good. I'm giving this 3 stars because I altered the recipe and used plain rice. I'll probably make it again with the changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
As written it's probably okay. I couldn't find chipotlé sauce so I did as others and puréed up some chipotlés in adobo. I added one medium minced white onion, 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin, juice of one lime and 1/2 cup chicken stock. As others suggested I added cilantro 1/2 hour before the end. It reminded me of Chilé Verdé. Very tasty in soft tacos. Ate with some Pozolé, Mexican rice and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 365) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States