Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2011
I wouldn't call this "amazing," but with some changes, it was good enough to make again. Normally, I don't cook pork tenderloin in the crockpot, but due to oven problems and a defrosted, 2lb tenderloin in my fridge, I decided to try this recipe. I dusted the tenderloin with salt and cumin and set it on top of a sliced onion and green bell pepper in the crockpot. I added chopped garlic on top of the tenderloin, along with chipotle salsa, lime juice, and a little water. I shredded the meat after 4 hours on low and added it back to the sauce. I served it with white rice, black beans and more salsa. Wish I'd had cilantro on hand to top it off with. It's hard to get a moist tenderloin in the crockpot, but this one turned out pretty well, and we liked the meal. The leftovers are also good. I'm giving this 3 stars because I altered the recipe and used plain rice. I'll probably make it again with the changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2011
As written it's probably okay. I couldn't find chipotlé sauce so I did as others and puréed up some chipotlés in adobo. I added one medium minced white onion, 1 1/2 tsp ground cumin, juice of one lime and 1/2 cup chicken stock. As others suggested I added cilantro 1/2 hour before the end. It reminded me of Chilé Verdé. Very tasty in soft tacos. Ate with some Pozolé, Mexican rice and refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
I used a pork tenderloin, I didn't cut it up, put the whole tenderloin in the crock pot topped with green chilies, and sweet chopped onions, and minced garlic, and lime juice, I did not add any water. I used some cumin, paprika and red pepper flakes instead of Chipotle. The pork was tender enough to easily shred with forks after six hours, then I left it another hour to soak up the juice. We used it in enchiladas...I done this with chicken also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *Sherri*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winter Springs, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
Delish! Won't make regularly but will absolutely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Trac689

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2011
This is a great, very tasty recipe! Super easy and quick to assemble. I couldn't find chipolte sauce so i used chipolte salsa, which went great. (I like chunks of veggies in my sauces anyway) I also added a sqeeze of one lime, one chopped onion, and 1 tsp of cumin, as others suggested. I served it in whole wheat tortillas, topped with sour cream, avocado, cheese and lime. Was a big hit! Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2011
wonderful dish! I prepared it in my slowcooker (I added a large onion as well) overnight and the smell got me out of bed in the morning. Can't wait to have it for lunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meurtelken

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This is a very good dish. I made my own version a bit differenlty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2011
Very good! My family really liked it! I didn't have lime for my rice, so I'm thinking Spanish Rice would have been better than just plain rice w/cilantro. We really liked this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melanieholt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Princess Anne, Maryland, USA
Living In: Seaford, Delaware, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2011
Added the cilantro and lime to the pork 15 min until done
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2011
This is really pretty good. Especially served with the cilantro lime rice! It makes tons so be ready to feed a crowd!! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 357) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States