Mexican Style Shredded Pork Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2014
Thought this was a great starter recipe but needed some tweaking to make it good. The addition of a drained can of rotel, about two tablespoons cumin, and extra cilantro mixed in with the meat improved the blandness. I also added more chipotle spice to give it more smokiness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Made recipe as written. I am sensitive to spicy foods and was concerned this might be great for my family but not me. I was pleasantly surprised with the depth of flavor and tolerable spiciness. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mel B

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2014
This was very tasty! It was similar to a barbacoa rice bowl. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jistanich

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2014
My husband and I love this recipe. It's ridiculously easy and a great way to make a meal last a long time. I served the pork with a mexican cheese on the top after having it without the cheese. We prefer it with the cheese. It makes the other flavors come out more. This is in regular rotation in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn
Living In: Brenham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2014
I changed this recipe only slightly. My grocery store had pork loin ends on sale so I used those. I browned them in a Dutch oven first and placed them on a plate as they browned. I took a whole large vadalia onion and cut it into wedges I put the onions in the Dutch oven just to pick up all the brown bits and added the garlic for a minute. Dumped the onions and garlic in the crock pot, dumped the meat and juices from the plate in and added the remaining ingredients. I cooked as instructed. LOVE , LOVE , LOVED IT,! I was at first pulled to this recipe by the rice - my husband loves cilantro.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Wow! What a great recipe!! I followed Judy's review and couldn't' have been more pleased. The only change I made from her suggestions was to use chicken breast (5-6) and put them in whole instead of pieces. Seasoned them up good with the Mrs. Dash chipolte seasoning. If using the chicken, I would suggest cutting down on the water to 2 1/2 or even 2 cups. I had way too much gravy after cooking and only added about half of it back in to give the chicken moisture and flavor. I think they inject water or broth into the chicken these days so sans the extra liquid. Next time (and there will be a next time!) I want to follow some of the other reviewers suggestions about adding the cilantro and some lime juice to the meat, etc. Maybe it's just me, but mine turned out tasting a whole lot like the chicken served at Chipolte's restaurants. If it's not the same it's sure close! A million thanks, Tora.v, for a fantastic recipe and to Judy for her helpful and delicious suggestions. This recipe will long be enjoyed at our house!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Fort Myers, Florida, USA
Living In: Lowell, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2014
We don't do spicy so I just used the salt, cilantro and garlic with the pork in the crock pot and it was so tasty! Wonderful over white rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Enola, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2014
Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
Excellent! Smelled kind of weird in the crockpot, but, tastes terrific! We ate this at least 4 different ways over the week. The lime rice was a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2014
This is an amazing recipe! I made Mexican style quinoa instead of the rice. Also, I seasoned the pork with salt, pepper, and Cajun seasoning first. It came out perfectly and is now a household favorite!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenixville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 361) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Jimmy's Mexican Pizza

Taco night meets pizza night with this Mexican-style deep-dish pizza.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States