Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
The very best meatballs I have ever had, and probably the best recipe I have ever found on allrecipes.com. One addition that I add to each meatball is to dice up some string cheese and place a chunk in the middle of each one. Makes the meatballs taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent appetizer! I cooked the meatballs in the oven on a broiler pan at 400 degrees instead of frying them to save time and clean up, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I loved this sauce! I needed some Mexican appetizers for a party but didn't have a ton of time, so I just bought a bag of frozen meatballs and put this sauce together the night before. Then the day of party I just threw the meatballs in the crock pot with the sauce and a few hours later, they were done! Everyone loved them. I think I could have threw in about twice the chipotles though. Maybe the brand I got was a mild one. But I do like it spicy!! Thanks for a great recipe. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
These were delicious! I followed the recipe almost exactly and they came out awesome. The only change I made was to add an 8 oz. can of tomato sauce to the diced tomatoes. We love spicy food, and therefore, LOVED these meatballs. I would not recommend them for the wimpy eaters!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renee Ridgeway

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
These were fantastic. Keep in mind that you must love chipotle peppers to really enjoy these meatballs, and there are some people that just don't like them. For those that are leaving out the chipotle in this recipe and replacing with something else, you may be getting a good meatball, but you are not getting the meatball this recipe is intending to offer, you are getting a different meatball, and seems unfair to rate it. The chipotle is a main ingredient in this recipe. Thanks for posting your delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2004
These were fabulous! I did add more of the peppers and sauce, to make it more spicy. I also added some parmesan cheese. My husband LOVED them. We ate them as an appetizer, along with crackers and cheese;however, I think the leftovers would be good over some rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2006
I'll be making this one again, these ARE addicting! I was skeptical that so few ingredients could have much flavor, but I was pleasantly surprised! The meatballs are excellent, and the sauce is fantastic! I had to add some sugar to the sauce, as often is the case with tomatoes, as they always vary in their sweetness. I halved the recipe, and got about 90 one inch-ish meatballs. I think I'll make them 1.5 inches next time as they shrink when browning. Thanks for an easy yet wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2007
The best meatballs I've ever made. I have never been able to make a tasty meatball I always used frozen.I put these on french bread for meatball subs. My son and his friends went nuts!!The best!!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by michellej
Living In: Lawrenceville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
Very good, but the sauce thickens up a lot. I would suggest adding more tomato sauce to make it a little thinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Highland, California, USA
Living In: Yucaipa, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
Great flavor, though I would recommend using less chicken broth for a thicker sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 54) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

See how to make hearty beef and bean nachos with a layer of potatoes!

Barilla® Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States