Mexican Style Meatballs Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2006
My husband doesn't like spicy food, but he did like these. I thought they were awesome. I had someone call me the other day for the recipe. Will make again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
I was so excited about taking this recipe to a Mexican Pot Luck. I can honestly say I was EMBARRASSED for people to try these. (I wished I hadn't brought them.) I followed the directions to a T, with two exceptions. My grocer didn't carry the 'chipotle peppers in adobo sauce'. So, I found some chipotle hot sauce and used that instead. The only other thing I did vs. the recipe was letting the meatballs simmer in a crock pot after browning them. The texture of the sauce was bad. The meatballs were... just bad. The pork/beef combination was awful. i hope you have better luck than I did. If you are expecting these to turn out like the pot luck fav, meatballs in barbecue sauce, don't. They are nowhere near the old standby. sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
I made this for a party and it was a huge hit. I did add extra chipotles though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
These were good, but not really spicy like I thought they'd be. If I make them again, I will try to give them a little more "zip" somehow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2006
I loved this sauce! I needed some Mexican appetizers for a party but didn't have a ton of time, so I just bought a bag of frozen meatballs and put this sauce together the night before. Then the day of party I just threw the meatballs in the crock pot with the sauce and a few hours later, they were done! Everyone loved them. I think I could have threw in about twice the chipotles though. Maybe the brand I got was a mild one. But I do like it spicy!! Thanks for a great recipe. I'll definitely be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2006
I used 2 lbs very lean ground beef and 1 lb ground pork. Otherwise, I used the exact ingredients in the recipe. To save time, I made the sauce per instructions, but did not brown the meatballs separately. I just put them in the sauce and cooked them for a couple of hours until they were done. Saves time, mess and the sauce picks up the meat flavor and vice versa. I did dice some cilantro and toss in towards the end. I used these as appetizers for a party and have a bit leftover, so I'll make green chile rice to serve them over. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2006
I like it spicy but the folks I live with (kids and hubby) didn't, so I added 1/4 c Miracle Whip and 2 T sugar. It was still very spicy, but more bearable for them. You can't taste the sugar or miracle whip. I served it over spaghetti.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
The very best meatballs I have ever had, and probably the best recipe I have ever found on allrecipes.com. One addition that I add to each meatball is to dice up some string cheese and place a chunk in the middle of each one. Makes the meatballs taste even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stevens Point, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Middleton, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
These are the best meatballs that you will ever have. My brother makes these for special occasions and they are always all gone in one night. He also adds cut up string cheese to the middle of each meatball, which makes them even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2006
Excellent appetizer! I cooked the meatballs in the oven on a broiler pan at 400 degrees instead of frying them to save time and clean up, and they were great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 57) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Charley's Slow Cooker Mexican Style Meat

See how to turn chuck roast into a spicy, tender meat filling for tacos.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Taters step in for tortilla chips, & nachos get an instant upgrade to main dish.

Mini Penne with Meatballs

See how to make meatballs and pasta in a creamy tomato sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States